We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“first timer”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown
Ranked #3 of 70 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“first timer”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Our first trip to Pittsburgh. We drove down from Buffalo. Only one night. The hotel was excellent in every way. Parking was free, a big plus. The free breakfast was simple but good. Selection was adequate. Hotel staff very friendly. The hotel was 2 blocks away from the strip. I am an all day long coffee drinker and the coffee was free and fresh and available 24 hours. The room itself was very large and well appointed. The 2 pm checkout with your AARP card was also a bonus. This was in addition to them letting us check in almost 3 hours early! We realize early and late checkouts are based on availability, but still we were quite pleased. We will definitely be coming back on our return.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aando001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,546 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,030
    428
    70
    14
    4
See reviews for
505
444
73
331
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, PA
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Overall Good - It meet our needs. No Problems.
But - The Room did not "Work" - ergomomits(sp)
Bathroom - No place to hang a Toilettary(sp)bag.
No shelves to unpack Toiletary(sp)bag
Shower was not a Shower - more Like A MIST
One little tiny shelf in Shower/Mist cubicle
Sink bowed out - very awakward when brushing teeth or shaving.
Room - Room was huge! OMG big open space - we could have danced...
TV remote would not work from the bed - room was too big...
No Refrig...
No Courtesy shuttle
No Courtesy Smoking Area...Maybe a few benches or picnic tables for Smokers???
Overal Good - These are NOT Complaints - Just Suggestions

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TedG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carver, ma
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013

This hotel is a great hotel, clean, freindly front desk people go out of the way for you. In a nice part of town. free parking, good breakfast food, pool was clean and had clean towels everywhere. I would come back here when i am pittsburgh again.

Room Tip: have a room on the 7th floor you'll see more
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RAY B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Perfect place to stay if your going to take in a baseball game. It was a very easy walk to the ballpark as well as many downtown locations. The room was a good size and the beds extremely comfortable. The complimentary breakfast offered quite a few options.....I would stay away from the eggs.....they looked a little like cut up easter peeps. There is a great museum right across the street and the hop on hop off bus stops there as well. The front desk staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kshultz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grandview, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Loved this hotel. Staff was wonderful, great location and great breakfast. Wish every hotel I stayed at was like this one. Easy access to and from the highway. If you are a fan of Diners, Drive-in and Dives, this hotel is down the street from the restaurant with the sandwiches with French fries and cole slaw on top. FYI it was pretty good.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Nicole W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna
2 reviews
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Could not have been friendlier or more helpful. Room was beautiful and very clean. Sign says they change all sheets and spreads daily. Desk staff helped me find my destination and gave me best route to get out of town.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Debra D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We booked this downtown hotel because of its close proximity to the zoo. The price was higher than we were used to paying but it was located directly downtown and only 15 min. from the zoo. Rooms were large, spacious and clean. Hotel staff were always friendly. We had a great stay and would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Rene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
Omni William Penn Hotel
#6 of 70 in Pittsburgh
3,946 reviews
Strip District
Homewood Suites by Hilton Pittsburgh Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown
Address: 1247 Smallman St, Pittsburgh, PA 15222-4239
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Pittsburgh
#3 Romantic Hotel in Pittsburgh
#3 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh-Downtown hotel is centrally located in Pittsburgh's historic Strip District near PNC Park and Heinz Field, within walking distance of the David L. Lawrence Convention Center. Enjoy free parking, free WiFi access, free hot breakfast, and a comfy guest room or suite with a clean and fresh Hampton bed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown Hotel Pittsburgh
Hampton Inn Hotel Pittsburgh
Hampton Inn Pittsburgh
Pittsburgh Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing