We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location & Free Parking”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown
Ranked #3 of 68 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Akron
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great Location & Free Parking”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

We drove in from Ohio for a quick one-night stay to visit the children's museum and the PA zoo. This hotel is centrally located to both activities (less than 10 mi drive for each). The staff was awesome & professional & the entire check in & out was flawless from start to finish (under 8 mins). Our room (2 bd queen) was huge, larger then I expected from the pics, clean & ready for us because we had scheduled an early check-in which the hotel accommodated as promised. I have two kids (2 & 15) & there was something for everyone to do. Free Wi-Fi & most importantly, this is the only downtown PA hotel with free parking (a need to know for drivers). We didn't get to walk around downtown because our trip was just 2 days & there was a threat of thunderstorms but driving through the town wasn't so bad with GPS. We will be back before summer end to see the other things PA offers & we will stay here again. The price was good, the pool was heated, the lil shop of food was well stocked & the free breakfast was not bad, there was a lot to choose from. PA has become our new quick getaway & now we have a new favorite place to stay while there. This hotel is great for single or family travel & it's close to almost everything regardless if your walking or driving. I highly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jellysmom2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,464 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    963
    417
    66
    14
    4
See reviews for
477
418
70
312
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
333 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

Great location, nice clean rooms, friendly staff. Pittsburg may have a bad rap with some, but this was an excellent hotel with an attentive and knowledgable staff. Easy drives to great museums, shopping, an old WWII sub and tech museum with separate kid's museum ( and a casino, too).

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mcdh4561
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

We stayed here for a Friday night game at PNC Park and the ground was a short 20 minute walk away. Check-in was very efficient, we were upgraded to a bigger room from what we had booked and a crib was delivered to our room and assembled very quickly after checking in.

The room was a good size for a hotel in the heart of the city, the free parking was very welcome and the free wifi useful too.

On a more negative note the free breakfast wasn't of the greatest quality and the dining area was very busy (not unexpected for the weekend). The pillows were all of different types and very small for a king sized bed.

In summary the hotel is good value for a short stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SJT01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland,Mi.
Level Contributor
236 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

We checked in for an extended weekend stay using our HHonors points and were suprisingly upgraded to a queen studio suite. The suite was very large with a fridge and microwave. The parking is still free and it is a 10-15 minute walk to the ballpark and about 5 minutes to the Strip district. The front desk staff are very friendly and helpful. The breakfast area was clean and well stocked.
The only negitive that we experienced was that every morning when exiting the back door to the lot, there were always people smoking right next to the door and we would walk through a cloud of smoke. There was a sign saying no smoking 5 feet from door. 5 feet away doesn't seem to be very far. Other than that, everything was perfect.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dnrdavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, United States
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

My family likes to stay at this hotel when we have to take our daughter to Pittsburgh Children's Hospital. Location is approximately 2.5 miles from the hospital and is located near several restaurants. We also like to walk the path by the river to get some exercise after dinner. Complimentary breakfast is ok, but could be better. Overall a good place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Jennifer A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curwensville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Hamptons are always good. This one is one of the best I've stayed at. The staff is very helpful. There's a convenient snack shop in the lobby. We stayed here to go to 2 baseball games at PNC Park--it's a relatively easy 20-30 minute walk away.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Laura W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hockessin, Delaware
Level Contributor
171 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

This Hampton is very close to the Convention Center and is a good alternative to the Westin, which is much more expensive, if you are headed to an event at the Center. But don't get me wrong, this hotel is very nice, but it is pricey for a Hampton Inn. Standard rates are in the $180 range, but it is downtown Pittsburgh. The Hampton does provide additional amenities that make it a decent deal if you want to stay downtown. Number one is they provide free parking-- basically you will pay for parking at virtually any other downtown hotel. They give you the standard Hampton breakfast for free (most other hotels have a restaurant where you pay for breakfast) plus they provide a small afternoon snack in the lobby on most days. The hotel itself is located on the edge of the Pittsburgh Strip District-- that is an area of shops, restaurants and stores. The restaurants and stores are within walking distance of the Hampton but in some cases, it is a very long walk. You are also within walking distance of much of the central business district of Pittsburgh. And the Hampton has quick access to the biking/walking trail that runs along the Allegheny River. That means from the back door of the hotel, you can walk (or bike) to some areas of downtown without worrying about traffic, etc. You can also walk to the Pittsburgh Pirates baseball park and the Steelers football stadium from the Hampton. We had a room facing the back parking lot and the building behind the Hampton. You can also see the river at an angle from that side of the hotel. If you want a river view room, you need to ask for an odd numbered room but you need a higher floor if you want to see anything on the river. Otherwise, you will have a street-facing room with a view of the Heinz Museum across the street. I prefer the river facing side as you avoid possible traffic noise.
The rooms in this Hampton are larger than most Hamptons I've been to, but they are rather sparsely furnished-- more physical space but it seems like the room is very spartan. The bathrooms are the upscale type usually found at the newer Hamptons. The hotel has a very nice indoor pool with a hot tub, plus an exercise room. There are at least two gourmet retaurants within a block of the Hampton. Lidia's (the Lidia of PBS fame with her Lidia's Italy show) is a very nice Italian restaurant that is a long block north of the hotel. Eleven is a very upscale restaurant that is just across the street and next door to the Heinz Museum. Eleven has a wall in its large bar area that lifts like a garage door during warm and pleasant weather giving the bar the look of a downtown, open air courtyard. Lots of couches and other comfortable seating in the bar area. We didn't make it inside of either so we have no comment on the food but both looked very nice.
The Hampton itself is a nice hotel. It does have suites at the the end of each hall and if you are staying for more than a night or two, I would recommend one of those as they provide more amenities. The suites have mini-refrigerators and microwaves where the standard rooms do not. However, the Hampton does have several mini-refrigerators that are available on a first-come, first serve basis if you ask. We called ahead to request one. It doesn't guarantee you'll get one, but they do put you on the list. They provided one for us with that request-- it made quite a bit of noise, but it worked. I should mention that the hotel is surrounded by parking lots so there are really no hotel grounds and you have the feeling you are a bit isolated because of the lack of surrounding buildings. I think some other reviewers mentioned a railroad that is just south of the hotel. I have stayed at this hotel twice and I have never really noticed any noise from train traffic. However, the Hampton is in an urban location and it is subject to what you would typically find in a major city. Overall, this Hampton is well situation for the downtown area. If you are on a budget, however, this one may not be for you. The usual standard chains are available at Robinson Town Center near the airport, Monroeville, or Cranberry Township. They have the same ammenities, a suburban atomsphere, and much lower prices. However, you will have to drive about 20 minutes to get into the city (as long as it is not rush hour) and pay to park so staying downtown does have some advantages. Bottom Line-- Good hotel, I will stay there again!

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor (7 or 8) and an odd numbered room to get a river view and away from any possibl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OldeBlueHen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
Omni William Penn Hotel
#5 of 68 in Pittsburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,781 reviews
Strip District
Homewood Suites by Hilton Pittsburgh Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown
Address: 1247 Smallman St, Pittsburgh, PA 15222-4239
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Pittsburgh
#3 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
#3 Romantic Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh-Downtown hotel is centrally located in Pittsburgh's historic Strip District near PNC Park and Heinz Field, within walking distance of the David L. Lawrence Convention Center. Enjoy free parking, free WiFi access, free hot breakfast, and a comfy guest room or suite with a clean and fresh Hampton bed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotwire, Cancelon, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown Hotel Pittsburgh
Hampton Inn And Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown
Hampton Inn Hotel Pittsburgh
Hampton Inn Pittsburgh
Pittsburgh Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing