We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty Average”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown
Ranked #3 of 71 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Myers
Level 6 Contributor
237 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 238 helpful votes
“Pretty Average”
Reviewed February 4, 2013

This Hampton Inn is about what you would expect. I did have one of the larger suite rooms. As always when this happens, the A/C - heating unit is the same size as for the smaller rooms. Thus it runs almost continuosly and the TV has to be turned up quite loud to be heard over the noise. In addiiton, the TV was also the same size as the smaller rooms. I was not happy with the self-park area as it is very dark and I did not like having to often park in the overflow lot and walk alone at night.
My bathroom, while it had a jetted tub, had no way to turn on the jets. It also was somewhat moldy smelling. the closet was a good size and the sink area has shelving so you can store your items under it. However, it did have an awful light above the mirror that just cast shadows on your face. I sure wish all of the hotels would put in a lighted make-up mirror. It is such a nice touch.
The breakfast was robust, with scrambled eggs, waffles, and the usual cereals, etc. However, the dining area is not very large and we had to wait one morning to get a table. They also had the breakfast to go bags and baked cookies in the evening. While you can walk to several restaurants, there are NO durg or grocery stores nearby and the hotel does not have a shuttle. You can walk to downtown, but it is a bit of a hike in the winter. I had a room in the back which faced part of the river but mostly looked into a big office building.
I doubt I would stay there again.

Room Tip: The hotel sits just a bit back from the road, request a room facing the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sendmehome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derek P, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us at our hotel. We really appreciate your feedback and are very sorry for the inconveniences you experienced while staying with us. We will take your comments under consideration as we work with our team to improve our guest experience. Again we apologize for the issues and we hope you will come visit us in the future. We would love another chance to provide a great stay for you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,571 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,048
    435
    70
    14
    4
See reviews for
513
452
75
334
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 1, 2013

At first glance I thought the room was pretty decent until I saw the bathroom that is. It didn't feel vary sanitary just walking in and I felt like I should have worn a hazmat suit. Also, I was very hesitant with sleeping on the sheets.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 167anonymous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derek P, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We are glad you chose our hotel during your recent stay in the area and we apologize for the housekeeping problems you experienced. Unclean rooms are not typical at our hotel and we appreciate you bringing this to our attention. We will make every effort to ensure our rooms meet the highest housekeeping standards and that our guests are 100% satisfied with their stay. We hope you will give us another chance if you visit this area in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2013

Down for a hockey game with my son, this was a good choice but a bit of a walk to the Consol Energy Center.
New, clean, friendly and helpful staff,pool and fresh baked cookies in the lobby!
Right across the street from the Heinz Historical Centre - associated with the Smithsonian - worth the visit especially for sports fans.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jack-pm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013

We were in Pittsburgh for a family wedding. Most family members stayed here for reception across the street, The hotel was clean, attractive, rooms were very large and comfortable, staff was friendly and helpful. It was a great gathering place for family.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patricia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Level 6 Contributor
320 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013

I've stayed at this hotel at least 3 or 4 times. I'm always surprised at how nice the property is. The staff is very nice and gated access parking is behind the building. The rooms I've always had here are LARGE and WELL furnished. Clean and always like new. Towels are soft and clean. Bathroom large and fresh. Frankly - the rooms at this hotel are nicer than many full service Hilton and Marriotts. A good choice. It's in an area known as "The Strip" and there are some very good restaurants nearby, including Lidias (Italian)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ChrisFromCincinnati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Great Experience! In town for a Steelers Game. Hotel staff were friendly and helpful. Room was clean, large with a great view. Kids loved the pool and the chocolate chip cookies were great!
Will definitely return to this hotel in future visits!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kliney22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

This hotel is very nice - across the street from a great museum, right on the edge of the strip district, and within walking distance to Heinz field. We got a King Suite - it was excellent! Staff was helpful and friendly. All in all a great place to stay to see a Steelers Game!

Room Tip: Primanti Bros is just down the street - you have to try one of these famous sandwiches!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Euell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
Omni William Penn Hotel
#5 of 71 in Pittsburgh
4,026 reviews
Strip District
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fairmont Pittsburgh
#4 of 71 in Pittsburgh
814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown
Address: 1247 Smallman St, Pittsburgh, PA 15222-4239
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Pittsburgh
#3 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
#3 Romantic Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh-Downtown hotel is centrally located in Pittsburgh's historic Strip District near PNC Park and Heinz Field, within walking distance of the David L. Lawrence Convention Center. Enjoy free parking, free WiFi access, free hot breakfast, and a comfy guest room or suite with a clean and fresh Hampton bed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown Hotel Pittsburgh
Hampton Inn And Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown
Hampton Inn Hotel Pittsburgh
Hampton Inn Pittsburgh
Pittsburgh Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing