We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Downtown Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown
Ranked #4 of 73 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 15, 2012

We stayed Aug 10 & 11, 2012 while attending a wedding. Our checkin was very fast and there were chocolate chip cookies which tasted like homemade on a table close by. We had a very large room with a king bed which was very comfortable. Bathroom was also huge with granite counter and a very large shower but no bathtub which did not matter to us. We used the small workout room which was across the hall from a small indoor pool and hottub. There is a very nice walkway out the back door that goes along the river and you can walk to the baseball stadium. The breakfast was very crowded but food was good and replenished as needed. There were eggs, bacon, waffles, juices, breads of all kinds etc. This is a very nice hotel and we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KS66215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,711)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,462 - 1,468 of 1,711 reviews

Reviewed August 12, 2012

It was a nice walk from downtown and across the street from a interesting looking museum. I only stayed one night, but overall I thought it met muster. The fitness facility was below expectation. There were no towels and the elliptical didn't seem to operate properly. It was a small room with one elliptical machine, one stationary (recumbent) bike, two treadmills, and a set of free weights. The room, however, was great. The room was very large. The beds were comfortable. The towels were fluffy and soft. Breakfast was good. I like that the Hampton inn chain mixes breakfast up. There are standard cold options, to be toasted or you can cook your own waffle. But there is also a hot breakfast that changes daily.

I think the best part of the hotel was its location helped me find Penn St and the Cultural District with all its theaters and restaurants. This hotel is not as close to the middle of downtown as some, but the walk into town is short and pleasant.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lavendertigerlily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

I have stayed in many places in Pittsburgh as we come from central PA often for Pirates games. This Place is the best. Great and thoutful employees. Tamesha at the front desk is awesome. He rooms are very spacious. We had a king size room and it was bigger than a suite we had once at a resort!
Everything is very clean and in great shape. Bed was so comfortable. Pillows were okay. Could have been firmer, but still a nice night of sleep! The bathroom in our room was huge. And I loved the little "vanity" set in the bathroom minis. It included cotton balls and q-tips...something I always seem to forget!

We didn't see much of the rest of the hotel but walking through the lobby and hallways, everything was extremely clean and nicely set up. They have a cool interactive computer in the lobby where you can look up places or go in Pittsburgh.

The only negative thing I can say is the doors. They are extremely loud and they slam. Whoever was staying across the hall did not seem to understand this and kept going in and out of their room around 2-3 am and slammed everytime!

We can't wait to come back here. The price is great for this area and it is so close to everything. We walked home from the pirates game and never felt unsafe, and it only took about 20 minutes to walk :)

Room Tip: We stayed in room 202. Easy if you want to use steps instead on elevator. Nice view of the museum ac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amber P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

I spend 3 nights with my family at this hotel. Hotel was in great location and lobby staff was so friendly and helpful. Room service worked like it should work....fast.
Shopping and restaurants was within walking distance of the hotel. From window you could see baseball field. so everything was short distance.
The room was SO BIG that we had no problem to fit into there. 2 queen beds and a sofa bed and a lot of space where children could play.
We visited Kennywood amusement park which is about an hour drive from the hotel. Really a fun place to go.
We recommended this hotel if you are traveling with a big family and others also! =)

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vaatainen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

For our second visit to Pittsburgh we decided to stay again at this Hampton Inn, which is within walking distance of the Strip district. We walked to the Strip for dinner at Lidia's (excellent upscale Italian in a beautiful space) and to shop at the great markets. The hotel is directly across the street from the Heinz History Center, which has permanent history and sports exhibits with a Western Pennsylvania focus as well as changing exhibits of more general interest.

Parking is free and plentiful, and the rooms are clean, quiet and spacious. The hotel has a small indoor pool, jacuzzi and fitness room containing several cardio machines and free weights, all in good condition. The free breakfast is one of the more substantial that I've seen in a hotel: eggs, sausage, cereals, bagels, toast, waffles, hard-boiled eggs, oatmeal, juices, coffee.

Great location for Strip visitors, and only a short drive from many Pittsburgh points of interest.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank lisak313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Very convenient hotel with free parking. Rooms are very clean and spacious but what really sets this hotel apart is the staff
From check in to check out they were helpful and friendly, ringing to check the room and amenities were to our satisfaction

Breakfast was always well stocked with fresh,not frozen, pastries and breads

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank yvonnefov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

I came to Pittsburgh with my family on vacation to see a Pirates game and it was great. Free breakfast, parking, access to fitness center, and pool. Can't beat it. Nice room with comfortable beds and bathroom. VERY clean hotel. Recommended to anybody. Walking distance to sights and PNC Park.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Ryan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
Omni William Penn Hotel
#6 of 73 in Pittsburgh
4,454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Strip District
Homewood Suites by Hilton Pittsburgh Downtown
Downtown
Drury Plaza Hotel Pittsburgh Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown

Address: 1247 Smallman St, Pittsburgh, PA 15222-4239
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Pittsburgh
#3 Romantic Hotel in Pittsburgh
#3 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range: $132 - $289 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh-Downtown hotel is centrally located in Pittsburgh's historic Strip District near PNC Park and Heinz Field, within walking distance of the David L. Lawrence Convention Center. Enjoy free parking, free WiFi access, free hot breakfast, and a comfy guest room or suite with a clean and fresh Hampton bed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown Hotel Pittsburgh
Hampton Inn Hotel Pittsburgh
Hampton Inn Pittsburgh
Pittsburgh Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing