We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent Restaurant” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Hop House

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Hop House
Ranked #928 of 2,141 Restaurants in Pittsburgh
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Fort Hancock, Texas
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Decent Restaurant”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2011

Overall this place is OK. I am an Ex-Smoker so I didn't mind sitting in the smoke too much but they should have better ventilation to make it a better place. The food was great and the beer selection is outstanding. The service was pretty good I went in there with low expectations for service due to some other reviews but I was waited on after a few minutes. They had Karaoke and Darts and Pool. I would give it much higher ratings if there was a better ventilation system.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank rrob311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    22
    11
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oil City, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great beers, awesome food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2011

the staff at the clarion hotel suggested the hop house for lunch or dinner. we loved the idea of imported beers and good food.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank jaimie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wildwood, Missouri
Level Contributor
55 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good Bar Food & Beer - fun vibe - blue collar hangout”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2011

Hop House was very close to hotel (Hampton Inn, Green Tree),,, easy to find. Seems like a rural area at night. "Smoking Permitted" sign on front doors... so no surprises (my eyes burned a little, and clothes smelled).
I sat at bar and ordered Reuben sandwich, fries, coleslaw and Black Porter beer. A great dinner. Highly recommended. Fun but cheesy bar games (trivia) going on. Very good food and friendly service when I was there. I'm getting hungry - I may return tonight for ribs.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dave-Sandy-Parker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
110 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Fun Bar!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2011

We come back to Pittsburgh a few times a year and the Hop House is always on our list of places to go catch a few beers and hang out with friends. Only reason that I didn't give it an excellent is because the bathrooms were kina dirty and that always freaks me out. Could of just caught it on a bad day because this hads never happened before. Go in and check it out!

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank HomeGrownOregonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good food,Good Price!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2011

Hop House has decent food and a good beer selection! We ordered their Oktoberfest specials of Spaten Chicken & Dusseldorf Pork. Very tastey w/ sides of potato pancakes and sauerkraut. They have outdoor seating with a grill/brick oven Lots of TVs for watching sports. Smoking is allowed indoors.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bogartist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Hop House also viewed

 

Been to The Hop House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing