We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent B&B”

Arbors Bed & Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pittsburgh
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Arbors Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 10 Pittsburgh B&B and Inns
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent B&B”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Stayed at Arbors for two nights and have nothing but good things to say for this B&B. Our host, Jim, was great. He knows lots about the area, and most importantly for us, was able to tell us which roads to avoid due to construction-most helpful in an unfamiliar city. The B&B is in a quiet neighborhood with excellent restaurants close by. Beds are comfortable, continental breakfast most enjoyable. Will definitely stay there again when in the Pittsburgh area. Thanks, Jim, for an excellent stay!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TNnativeHoustonTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
16
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
47 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

We have just returned home from a couple of nights at arbors b&b. Jim is charming and knows a lot about the area, the b&b is comfortable with nice beds, linens and pillows. We do want to go back to Pittsburgh to see more of the city and plan to stay there again.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Hwsb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth
Level Contributor
125 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

We stayed at this B&B to close out our vacation in Pennsylvania-a great choice if I may be allowed to pat myself on the back. Lets face it...when you're in the middle of Pittsburgh and you get to take photos of deer from the front porch--something special is presenting itself. Jim is a very friendly host who is very knowledgeable regarding Pittsburgh and is happy to direct you to important sights, activities and restaurants--he also gives great directions to steer you around road construction projects that render smart phone guidance systems useless. This is an old farm house that sets on a pretty steep and forested bluff above the streets below. Our room (standard king #3) was spacious, clean and very comfortable--Jim had even put bathrobes in our room. I made use of the hot-tub both nights to address stressed out and over-"toured" muscles. The grounds provided a secluded and verdant backdrop to our stay. I did feel as if I were "home"--that is unusual for me as I normally don't relax that readily when I'm so far away from my real "home". We had wonderful chats with Jim every morning before we went out to explore the surprisingly beautiful city of Pittsburgh. We hope to go back, some day.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerville, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

What a find! We stayed at the Arbors for one night. I would have stayed for more, but we were on our way to a wedding in Cincinnati the next day. We arrived late, and Jim had the perfect suggestion for a dinner spot nearby. After our delicious Thai food, we returned to the inn and relaxed in the hot tub. Yes, there is a hot tub. So nice!

The next morning, Jim had fresh (delicious) coffee brewing and an entire breakfast spread ready for us. The whole house is filled with charm. Our room was very clean, and everything smells good! I would DEFINITELY return if I found myself in Pittsburgh again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank MeryltheAdventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, NY
2 reviews
Reviewed June 9, 2013

The rooms were spacious and clean, with great attention paid to those small details that make one's stay extra comfortable. The grounds were lush with plants and other foliage, giving the feeling of privacy, even in a residential neighborhood. There is an enclosed porch and an outdoor patio off the dining area, where one can eat or just sit and relax and enjoy the view of the garden.

We found Jim, the B&B manager to be both accommodating and friendly. He gladly offers advice on what is current in entertainment, where to go, how to get there and restaurants for a variety of tastes.

We look forward to staying at this B&B again on our next trip to Pittsburg.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LucyBBB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 19, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Arbors for 3 nights, and were very pleased. Jim was a great host, always up, and ready to give us directions on how to get to various places. During that time we were able to see visit Fallingwater, Kentuck Nob, the Frick, the Warhol museum, and yummy restaurants. I would definitely recommend staying there.

Room Tip: Great time of year to open all the windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Soraya B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austinburg, Ohio
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

My husband & i were in town for a show at Consol Energy Center. Perfect location (on the "north shore" not too hard to find your way downtown from here). Kind of hard to find the B&B from the directions on the website, so if you have an up-to-date GPS that should work just fine.
The owners live just a couple of blocks from the place, so if you arrive and no one is there to check you in they'll leave you their cell phone number to call (which we had to do) and didn't have to wait more than about 5 minutes for Craig to arrive.

Jim, their host / manager, is just absolutely wonderful and gave great tips on where to go, where to eat, where we'd need reservations for, and the best way to get wherever we were going.
He also made our stay very fun and enjoyable, our first morning we spent hours at the kitchen table with the other guests sitting around talking and laughing and were surprised at how much time had passed.

The house is beautiful, the guest room we stayed in was inviting with everything we needed. Our room (Sunset) had french doors that opened up to let in fresh air, and there are also 2 windows which both open up (all are screened). I don't think there was any way to control the heat / air in your room. There's a small private bath with shower stall, the sink is located in the room. Didn't see a hair dryer anywhere, but i usually bring my own just in case when we travel. I bet if you forgot yours, Jim would make sure you had one. There are toiletries available if you need them. Small in-room fridge and coffee maker too. Also provided were robes and we had plenty of towels available. The bed was verrrry firm but not terribly uncomfortable (everyone has their liking). Also enjoyed that there's not a lot of street noise to deal with, nice and quiet location.

There's a hot tub could comfortably fit 4 and not be crowded, located downstairs in a 4-seasons room, there are towels and plastic wine glasses available.

Breakfast is simple - fresh baked muffins, pastries from a local bakery, English muffins, yogurt, fresh fruit, you can also make oatmeal and i think there was cold cereal available too. Plenty of coffee and tea.

Surprisingly, we saw a wild turkey strolling up the driveway towards the street on our last morning there, which seems strange to see in such an "urban" location...
Speaking of location, we enjoyed Pittsburgh's north shore area, there's plenty of great restaurants and bars all within about a 10 minute drive. We enjoyed the area, had lots of fun and enjoyed chatting with the locals when we were out and about, everyone we talked to was very friendly and seemed pretty happy. Looking forward to our next visit.

We went to: Max's Allegheny Tavern, Nicky's Thai Kitchen, Modern Cafe, The Warhol Museum, and Rivers Casino during our stay, and all were within minutes of the B&B.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank reiglet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
2.2 mi away
Omni William Penn Hotel
Omni William Penn Hotel
#6 of 70 in Pittsburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,853 reviews
1.8 mi away
Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel
2.0 mi away
Fairmont Pittsburgh
Fairmont Pittsburgh
#4 of 70 in Pittsburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Priory Hotel
The Priory Hotel
#8 of 70 in Pittsburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 708 reviews
1.5 mi away
Residence Inn Pittsburgh North Shore
1.0 mi away
Inn on the Mexican War Streets
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arbors Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arbors Bed & Breakfast

Property: Arbors Bed & Breakfast
Address: 745 Maginn St, Pittsburgh, PA 15214-3007
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Pittsburgh
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Arbors Bed And Breakfast
Arbors Hotel Pittsburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing