We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home”

Arbors Bed & Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pittsburgh
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Arbors Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 11 Pittsburgh B&B and Inns
Somerville, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

What a find! We stayed at the Arbors for one night. I would have stayed for more, but we were on our way to a wedding in Cincinnati the next day. We arrived late, and Jim had the perfect suggestion for a dinner spot nearby. After our delicious Thai food, we returned to the inn and relaxed in the hot tub. Yes, there is a hot tub. So nice!

The next morning, Jim had fresh (delicious) coffee brewing and an entire breakfast spread ready for us. The whole house is filled with charm. Our room was very clean, and everything smells good! I would DEFINITELY return if I found myself in Pittsburgh again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank MeryltheAdventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
16
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo, NY
2 reviews
Reviewed June 9, 2013

The rooms were spacious and clean, with great attention paid to those small details that make one's stay extra comfortable. The grounds were lush with plants and other foliage, giving the feeling of privacy, even in a residential neighborhood. There is an enclosed porch and an outdoor patio off the dining area, where one can eat or just sit and relax and enjoy the view of the garden.

We found Jim, the B&B manager to be both accommodating and friendly. He gladly offers advice on what is current in entertainment, where to go, how to get there and restaurants for a variety of tastes.

We look forward to staying at this B&B again on our next trip to Pittsburg.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LucyBBB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 19, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Arbors for 3 nights, and were very pleased. Jim was a great host, always up, and ready to give us directions on how to get to various places. During that time we were able to see visit Fallingwater, Kentuck Nob, the Frick, the Warhol museum, and yummy restaurants. I would definitely recommend staying there.

Room Tip: Great time of year to open all the windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Soraya B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austinburg, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

My husband & i were in town for a show at Consol Energy Center. Perfect location (on the "north shore" not too hard to find your way downtown from here). Kind of hard to find the B&B from the directions on the website, so if you have an up-to-date GPS that should work just fine.
The owners live just a couple of blocks from the place, so if you arrive and no one is there to check you in they'll leave you their cell phone number to call (which we had to do) and didn't have to wait more than about 5 minutes for Craig to arrive.

Jim, their host / manager, is just absolutely wonderful and gave great tips on where to go, where to eat, where we'd need reservations for, and the best way to get wherever we were going.
He also made our stay very fun and enjoyable, our first morning we spent hours at the kitchen table with the other guests sitting around talking and laughing and were surprised at how much time had passed.

The house is beautiful, the guest room we stayed in was inviting with everything we needed. Our room (Sunset) had french doors that opened up to let in fresh air, and there are also 2 windows which both open up (all are screened). I don't think there was any way to control the heat / air in your room. There's a small private bath with shower stall, the sink is located in the room. Didn't see a hair dryer anywhere, but i usually bring my own just in case when we travel. I bet if you forgot yours, Jim would make sure you had one. There are toiletries available if you need them. Small in-room fridge and coffee maker too. Also provided were robes and we had plenty of towels available. The bed was verrrry firm but not terribly uncomfortable (everyone has their liking). Also enjoyed that there's not a lot of street noise to deal with, nice and quiet location.

There's a hot tub could comfortably fit 4 and not be crowded, located downstairs in a 4-seasons room, there are towels and plastic wine glasses available.

Breakfast is simple - fresh baked muffins, pastries from a local bakery, English muffins, yogurt, fresh fruit, you can also make oatmeal and i think there was cold cereal available too. Plenty of coffee and tea.

Surprisingly, we saw a wild turkey strolling up the driveway towards the street on our last morning there, which seems strange to see in such an "urban" location...
Speaking of location, we enjoyed Pittsburgh's north shore area, there's plenty of great restaurants and bars all within about a 10 minute drive. We enjoyed the area, had lots of fun and enjoyed chatting with the locals when we were out and about, everyone we talked to was very friendly and seemed pretty happy. Looking forward to our next visit.

We went to: Max's Allegheny Tavern, Nicky's Thai Kitchen, Modern Cafe, The Warhol Museum, and Rivers Casino during our stay, and all were within minutes of the B&B.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank reiglet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wasilla, Alaska
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Three of us, each coming from a different state, met up at the Arbors B-n-B in anticipation of a concert to be given by British Tenor Alfie Boe. Unfortunately, Mother Nature had other plans. Hurricane Sandy caused the concert to be canceled and left Pittsburgh damp and chilly. Our suite at The Arbors Bed and Breakfast was warm and comfortable, and the incredible hospitality of our host, Jim, along with the amazing array of home baked goodies warmed our hearts and spirits. Jim was very helpful in assisting us with our unplanned needs (getting to the hospital because of a kidney stone, extending our stay, making room for an extra friend when her roommate's flight was canceled due to the weather). He was absolutely delightful. The fall setting was beautiful, the home was full of history and character, and everything was bright and clean. The location was very central to the places we needed to go. I know that we will stay there again if our travels (and Alfie Boe) ever bring us back to Pittsburgh.

Thank you, Jim, for a wonderful stay!
AlaskaGrace

Room Tip: They are all wonderful and beautifully appointed with antiques. The suite was roomy and the bed very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlaskaGrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabethtown PA
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Arbors recently when we went to Pittsburgh to visit our son in college. It was also our 26th wedding anniversary. We very much enjoyed the stay. The rooms were welcoming, and the bathroom was sparkling clean. We liked the old-fashioned rooms downstairs. The location was in a tucked away spot. There was plenty of breakfast and Jim the manager was helpful, friendly, and full of Pittsburgh information. We would recommend this B&B highly.

Room Tip: Bring a swimsuit, they have a hot tub
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IkeEtown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

This b&b has to be the best kept secret in Pittsburgh! We have stayed at several hotels in Pittsburgh and are disappointed that we did not find Arbors B&B sooner. The location is ideal for anyone who wants to be within a short drive from everything Pittsburgh has to offer. Jim is great, he made us feel so welcome and made our stay wonderful! We can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jpoole813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
2.2 mi away
Omni William Penn Hotel
Omni William Penn Hotel
#5 of 71 in Pittsburgh
4,023 reviews
2.5 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Pittsburgh - Downtown
2.2 mi away
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Pittsburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Hotel Indigo Pittsburgh East Liberty
1.5 mi away
SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh North Shore
1.5 mi away
The Priory Hotel
The Priory Hotel
#14 of 71 in Pittsburgh
724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arbors Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arbors Bed & Breakfast

Property: Arbors Bed & Breakfast
Address: 745 Maginn St, Pittsburgh, PA 15214-3007
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Pittsburgh
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Arbors Bed And Breakfast
Arbors Hotel Pittsburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing