We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“thanks”

Legends of The North Shore
Ranked #217 of 2,173 Restaurants in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $25
Cuisines: American, Italian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Top 25 Restaurant.. Best Italian.. B.Y.O.B... GOT MAMA'S GRAVY .. Family Operated .. Chef Owned.. Established i 2002..NEIGHBORHOOD JOINT FEEL
pittsburgh
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“thanks”
Reviewed April 30, 2013

What do you say to someone who enters your Italian restaurant and tells you they can't eat garlic? Chef Dan and his staff said, " no problem", and went on to prepare me a wonderful dinner sans garlic. I can't say enough good things about Legends from the food to the chef and staff. Thanks, we'll be back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank bob w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    28
    12
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, NC
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent Italian Fare”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Some of the best Italian food around. We dine in or take out frequently. Been in Pittsburgh for months on business and this is one of our regular stops!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank NCCubsfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
391 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“Don't Bother”
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Located close to Allegheny Hospital, Legend is usually crowded. Mostly with folks who prize convenience over dining experience. Our experience was below average on all counts. The only issue open to a reviewer is what was worse; food or service, seating or atmosphere. All were below average and, when compared to other locations on the North Side, well below average. And when you throw in cost...don't bother.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank G C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Level 6 Contributor
194 reviews
155 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“not thrilled”
Reviewed December 14, 2012

heard and saw good things. Did not experience such. It is far from being the best Italian in Pittsburgh, or even the best value of almost any restaurant.

A lunch Ceaser salad was just a nickel less than Morton's and not nearly as good. But others wanted to go for dinner so we went. At almost $50/couple, it was ridciculously overpriced for food quality. Pastas were expensive and meatball mostly bread. the bill had no alcohol as it is BYOB, which is a plus.

Factor in the spartan (a rather kind word) atmosphere and you have a place that we will not return to.

I am not a snob and will go most anywhere for good food, but Legends is not the place for us.

I recently had a nice lunch in a downtown quality Italian restaurant getting a cup of chicken pastina and a small Ceasar's for $6.

$11 for a ceaser's without any chicken was way over the top for most good restaurants. For this atmosphere it was absurd.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank NLtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corvallis, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Delicious Experience”
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Our Christmas celebration was here for a group of ten on a Saturday night. We had reservations and were quickly seated upon arrival. Our waitress, Janet was an awesome, energetic server. She quickly took our orders for drinks and rapidly brought them. We then ordered our appetizers, Beans and Greens (garlicky and tasty), Mussels (did not try), Fried Mozzarella (crispy outside with cheesy goodness inside) and Margarita Bruschetta (like a thin crust pizza with a delicious sauce) (these were in addition to our bread sticks and olive oil.) All were delicious. My husband ordered the Spinach Ravioli and I ordered the Chicken Agrodolce. Both were fantastic. My Chicken Agrodolce was a spicy/sweet concoction with apricots and spicy peppers. The mashed potatoes and crisp vegetables were a wonderful accompaniment. The Spinach Ravioli was in a tomato cream sauce. Both meals were prefaced with crispy salads with a tasty balsamic dressing. Dessert was the coconut cream pie. It was by far the best coconut cream pie we have eaten. The custard was light and fluffy with just the right amount of coconut flakes. Even though is seems like we had a ton of food, we walked away from this meal just properly sated. The experience was wonderful and the atmosphere was homey feeling.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank javajlh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Legends of The North Shore also viewed

 

Been to Legends of The North Shore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing