We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Italian Fare” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Legends of The North Shore

Legends of The North Shore
Ranked #210 of 2,141 Restaurants in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $25
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Description: Top 25 Restaurant.. Best Italian.. B.Y.O.B... GOT MAMA'S GRAVY .. Family Operated .. Chef Owned.. Established i 2002..NEIGHBORHOOD JOINT FEEL
Lexington, NC
Level Contributor
55 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent Italian Fare”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

Some of the best Italian food around. We dine in or take out frequently. Been in Pittsburgh for months on business and this is one of our regular stops!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank NCCubsfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    27
    12
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
383 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Don't Bother”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

Located close to Allegheny Hospital, Legend is usually crowded. Mostly with folks who prize convenience over dining experience. Our experience was below average on all counts. The only issue open to a reviewer is what was worse; food or service, seating or atmosphere. All were below average and, when compared to other locations on the North Side, well below average. And when you throw in cost...don't bother.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank G C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Level Contributor
184 reviews
146 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“not thrilled”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2012

heard and saw good things. Did not experience such. It is far from being the best Italian in Pittsburgh, or even the best value of almost any restaurant.

A lunch Ceaser salad was just a nickel less than Morton's and not nearly as good. But others wanted to go for dinner so we went. At almost $50/couple, it was ridciculously overpriced for food quality. Pastas were expensive and meatball mostly bread. the bill had no alcohol as it is BYOB, which is a plus.

Factor in the spartan (a rather kind word) atmosphere and you have a place that we will not return to.

I am not a snob and will go most anywhere for good food, but Legends is not the place for us.

I recently had a nice lunch in a downtown quality Italian restaurant getting a cup of chicken pastina and a small Ceasar's for $6.

$11 for a ceaser's without any chicken was way over the top for most good restaurants. For this atmosphere it was absurd.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank NLtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corvallis, Oregon
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Delicious Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

Our Christmas celebration was here for a group of ten on a Saturday night. We had reservations and were quickly seated upon arrival. Our waitress, Janet was an awesome, energetic server. She quickly took our orders for drinks and rapidly brought them. We then ordered our appetizers, Beans and Greens (garlicky and tasty), Mussels (did not try), Fried Mozzarella (crispy outside with cheesy goodness inside) and Margarita Bruschetta (like a thin crust pizza with a delicious sauce) (these were in addition to our bread sticks and olive oil.) All were delicious. My husband ordered the Spinach Ravioli and I ordered the Chicken Agrodolce. Both were fantastic. My Chicken Agrodolce was a spicy/sweet concoction with apricots and spicy peppers. The mashed potatoes and crisp vegetables were a wonderful accompaniment. The Spinach Ravioli was in a tomato cream sauce. Both meals were prefaced with crispy salads with a tasty balsamic dressing. Dessert was the coconut cream pie. It was by far the best coconut cream pie we have eaten. The custard was light and fluffy with just the right amount of coconut flakes. Even though is seems like we had a ton of food, we walked away from this meal just properly sated. The experience was wonderful and the atmosphere was homey feeling.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank javajlh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
139 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Don't Overlook this Place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

The first time that we went there, years ago, they had a special for two which included a bottle of wine. It might now have as much ambience as some other restaurants, but the food is good--Italian and some 'American.' Again, it was handy for us, since we could easily walk there.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank MartiAbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Legends of The North Shore also viewed

 

Been to Legends of The North Shore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing