We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food Excellent Service”
Review of Crystal

Crystal
Ranked #115 of 2,167 Restaurants in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Strip District
Description: You have to list this restaurant! They were featured on Food Network's "Diners, Drive-Ins, and Dives" and it is spectacular!
Milton, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good Food Excellent Service”
Reviewed July 14, 2014

The Mediterranean food was good, but the service was excellent. The owner and her mother were so nice and patient with my kids when trying to order. I had a burger in which I could select many different toppings, like hummus, which I've never had on a burger before. I tried a beer I've never heard of called Purple Haze and thought it was good, since I don't usually like the fruity beers.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paps_Blue_Ribbon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    30
    6
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cattaraugus, NY
Level Contributor
46 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Not what we expected”
Reviewed May 31, 2014

Knew Diners Drive in and Dives had been there so expected a much bigger place. Not many patrons there. Food was ok but nothing exceptional. My daughter discovered a new local beer which she loved. Staff was nice.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sally W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
107 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Don't Miss This One!”
Reviewed April 16, 2014

We recently spent 3 days in Pittsburgh and enjoyed the great food at Crystal on Penn 3 times!! A small, friendly bar/cafe at the beginning of the Strip District, Crystal serves freshly prepared food at fair prices. Wonderful fish and chips, wraps, and chicken kabobs! Their homemade hot sauce is a winner! Kudos to the chef!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank traveler06032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syosset
Level Contributor
77 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Wonderful mediterranean food/ bar”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We came here for lunch. I order a Greek salad w/ pita and my husband ordered a falafel wrap w/ homemade fries. It was wonderful ! There are also several other dishes as well as burgers and if course it's a neighborhood bar.
Very authentic Mediterranean place with a wonderful owner, Caroline, that welcomes everyone. She was so pleasant and we engaged in conversation about many things. Upon leaving she gave. Upon leaving and wishing us safe travels we gave each other a big hug.
Featured in diners,divas and dives this place is not fancy but rivals any middle eastern place in NY.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bbmizrahi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
133 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gem”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

We went to the restaurant because it was featured on Diners, Drive-Ins, and Dives. It is basically a bar with five or six tables It is near the convention center and bus station. The menu has a mixture Greek/Middle East food with some traditional bar favorites. The food was outstanding. There was one women on duty who served as the bartender and waitress, but she was attentive and the food came quickly. The soup, salads and appetizers were very good. The chicken kabobs were excellent. The bill was very reasonable. Ignore the fancier, more expensive restaurants in town and come here for a great meal.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chinanomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crystal also viewed

 
Pittsburgh, PA
 

Been to Crystal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing