We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great service!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bigelow Grille

Bigelow Grille
Reserve with OpenTable
Bigelow Grille is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #235 of 2,141 Restaurants in Pittsburgh
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Bigelow and 6th Ave
St. Louis, MO
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great service!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

Food was tasty, I'd rate it a 3.5. But the wait staff and restaurant managers were exceptionally attentive and almost too fast! Perhaps they read previous reviews and decided a big change was in order because we had great service for all breakfasts, lunches and dinners we ate there during our 4-day stay.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank consmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacob Z, Manager at Bigelow Grille, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear guest consmi


Thank you for your great feedback. We are glad you enjoyed all of your meals at the Bigelow Grille. We strive to provide courteous and professional service to all of our guests and we hope to see you again soon.


Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    43
    37
    17
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax, VA
Level Contributor
126 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Good breakfast but slow service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

Four of us sat down on a weekday around 10:15 and while the food was quite good the kitchen took a good long while to gin up some eggs. The staff were friendly, competent and helpful and the room itself it nice and bright.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Glon Drack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jordan, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Limited and Long”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

Limited menu, bartender had minimum knowledge/suggestions, LONG waits to be seated, even longer to be acknowledged by a server

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank lcessielc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
357 reviews
224 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“SLOOOWWWW service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

stopped in before a hockey game for some dinner. The menu is interesting and has some nice options. The salad selection was meek, but I found one that would satisfy. We waited a very long time for three salads and one entree. It was probably upwards of 40 minutes. They were out of the arugula (main ingredient) and substituted spinach. They skipped the cheese entirely. gave me exactly two matchstick sized apple pieces. It was bathed in enough olive oil for the entire table. The meatball entree that was ordered was really tasty. I looked at other tables and the burgers looked big and juicy. Others were nervously looking around for the wait staff, thinking they would not make it to the game in time.

It did not appear to be all that busy, but maybe they just weren't staffed and stocked for a pre-game dinner crowd.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Live2traveldaworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
57 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“I'll never know how good the food may be....”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2012

My husband and I are traveling to Pittsburgh on Christmas Day to take my brother-in-law, who is currently in a rehab facility, to Christmas Dinner. I found Bigelow Grille online, and their website indicated they would have a Christmas Day Dinner, but the description only said "Join us for Christmas Day Dinner 12pm to 7pm. Featuring seasonal offerings." I made a reservation on OpenTable anyway, and called to ask if they would be able to accommodate a vegan or at least vegetarian (my husband and his brother are omnivores). The girl who answered took my number and said a manager would call me the next morning. I never heard from them, so I called again three days later. Same story, and I still never heard. It is now Christmas Eve, and their website still has the same vague description, and I've never gotten a call. Needless to say, I booked elsewhere.

They may not be prepared to make something special for someone, but would it have killed them to call me and say this? So rude.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Leslie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bigelow Grille also viewed

 

Been to Bigelow Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing