We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unknown gem”
Review of Eleven

Eleven
Reserve with OpenTable
Eleven is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #7 of 2,178 Restaurants in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar scene, Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Strip District
Cross street: 12th St.
West Chester
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Unknown gem”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

I had never heard about this resturant untill I was invited there. It is in an old factory building that was last a micro brewery. The food was outstanding I had the fish and my wife had pasta ans we both said we want to come back here the next time we are in Pittsburgh.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

659 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    410
    173
    48
    15
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cary, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
417 reviews
290 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“A nice place to dine”
Reviewed September 26, 2013

We had an early dinner at Eleven before attending a Steeler's football game. It is a pretty large restaurant on two floors with an open feeling. The atmosphere is great and our meals were even better. Our group had the seafood platter, pork chop, and chicken. All of the meals were prepared perfectly and were to our taste. The portions were reasonable - not the tiny portions you sometimes get in an upscale restaurant. The heirloom tomato soup was delicious. The service was very good. I would definitely return for another meal.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JoeBoxter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“A 10 for Eleven”
Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

Fabulous dinner and wine list. We were told the menu changes nightly. I am not sure I like that idea since my meal was so good, I'd like to have it again! I had the beet risotto and my friend had the filet. The flavors were unbelievable. We had 2 bottles of wine, from their extensive list. The prices were high, but this a nice restaurant and great for special occasions.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Travelingmom15108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsport, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
224 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“High dinning experience”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Eleven is a gem in Pittsburgh, rather unassuming on the outside but the venue is amazing and memorable. The service was awesome and the food was beyond delicious. Every part of the encounter was top shelf. Attire of the staff is higher end but you can feel comfortable in dressed up jeans attire. Added for any car aficionado – the cars parked along the curb are worthy of review. The valet places the expensive cars at the front door….

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Orchard609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Under-serviced and overseasoned.”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Service issues: If you arrive early and are invited to wait in the bar, should the Maitre d' find you when a table is available or should have to keep checking? If the banquette-style seat is soiled, should the staff dry the seat after sponging it off? Should the waiter make a bad joke about the less desirable location of your table? Should the waiter ask repeatedly whether things are okay, to the point where both you and your teenager thinks it's off-putting?

And then the food: good ideas but mixed execution. The cooks are a little heavy-handed: The salad and pasta were both oversalted, though the lamb sausage in the pasta was terrific. Salmon was cooked perfectly but the mushroom and scallion garnish didn't quite work. The wine list was quite good, with a very reasonable range of prices.

There are lots of good ideas in this restaurant, but they haven't yet pulled it together.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BobM61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eleven also viewed

 

Been to Eleven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing