We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Continuing excellence at the Inn on Negley” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Inn on Negley

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Inn on Negley
Ranked #1 of 10 Pittsburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Continuing excellence at the Inn on Negley”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

Dear Liz

We couldn’t rest without sending this e-mail after our latest stay at The Inn on Negley.

If only we had adequate words to tell the absolute perfection of our experience.

This is the latest and longest of our many times at the Inn and although it doesn’t seem possible, each time seems better than the last. It’s difficult to pinpoint any specific part of the experience as the service and attention is sheer perfection in every area. You and your “crew” seem to know exactly what we want or need before we even know ourselves so that it is rare that we have to ask for anything. Then if we do, it’s there or done before you know it.

Breakfast was always absolutely delicious with every whim catered for and was something we looked forward to every day. A gourmet delight which could easily have substituted for dinner.

All in all a fabulous operation with a wholly relaxing atmosphere whether in the luxurious comfort of our room or in the equally luxurious sitting room which enabled us to completely “chill out” 100% of the time and enjoy our time in Pittsburgh to the full.

We look forward to our next visit to Pittsburgh impatiently.

Thank you again for everything.

Louise & Laurie Cohen
________________________________________

Room Tip: Each room is different and all beautifully appointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurence C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    15
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
44
96
12
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
67 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

My husband and I stayed here recently for our 21st anniversary on 11/2. We stay a lot in the city of Pittsburgh so we are used to the usual four star hotel experience. This was something special. From the moment we walked in, we were greeted so warmly. The decor of the Inn itself was unique and homey. We stayed in the Cortland suite. It was spacious and lovely and we appreciated all the special touches such as robes and slippers and the luxurious L'Occitane bath products. The two staff members we encountered were helpful and sweet without being overbearing. Before leaving for dinner at Casbah, we enjoyed complimentary wine and cheese in the cozy dining area and chatted with a few other guests which was very nice, In the morning, they had an amazing breakfast ready at the time you allot. I had the pumpkin pancakes which were heavenly and very much appreciated given the Fall season. What a jewel tucked so close to the city, Before we left, I reserved for Valentines weekend so we can look forward to another incredible experience, The owner(s) of this Inn should be proud to own and run such a gem and also be proud of their wonderful staff who helped make the experience even nicer. We will be back without one doubt.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, OH
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

My husband and I have a daughter in Pittsburgh and were set for a weekend at the Inn in Oct. 2011. Two days before our arrival my husband went into the hospital for serious medical reasons; over the next two months he went through some harrowing medical events and it took him six months to fully recover. But the nights we were due to be at the Inn he was in intensive care at the hospital. The Inn charged us for one of those nights because they couldn't fill the room. One would think even an offer of a discount in the future would be a nice gesture, but I could hardly get the reservation person to return our call. Not even the airlines turn their backs on this kind of surprise turn of events, but the Inn on Negley does.

Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
10 Thank travelers015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellicott City, Maryland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

We celebrated our 5 year anniversary here and the inn is beautiful. The food and service were top notch. It's in a very nice neighborhood within walking distance to shops and restaurants. The only downside to our stay was that the Redskins lost.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Mass
Level Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

We recently spent a few nights at the Inn on Negley during a visit to Pittsburgh to attend my wife's high school reunion (we won't say which one :-). We found it a very pleasant, nicely appointed place to stay, right in the heart of my wife's old stomping grounds -- an easy walk to many familiar places evoking numerous memories of the area.

The inn itself is well-maintained, and we found the staff to be friendly and helpful. Our room was nicely furnished and comfortable, and we had everything needed for an enjoyable stay. Based on reviews and research, we had judged this to be the best inn in the area for our visit, and we weren't disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yesod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
58 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

to say about our three night stay at The Inn on Negley. Just wish we had not been so involved in a wedding so we could have stayed another day, and had tea. It looked lovely. Our room was perfection, as was the staff and the breakfasts. Let's also mention all the special attentions which were graciously lavished on the wedding party. Not only gracious staff, but eager to please. Bet we'll go back again and again......there can't be a better place to stay in Pittsburgh.

Room Tip: We had one of the three rooms on the third floor, the Empire. Yes it is a hike, but we considered th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank April M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
60 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

This inn was incredible; the staff was freindly, courteous, efficient, professional, helpful with suggestions of attractions, restaurants, and best routes to take. The room was fabulous with period furniture, fluffy towels, and all the ammenities. Breakfasts were done to perfection, served with a flourish, with a variety of 'starters' each day. And, of course, cookies in the early afternoon and wine in the evening. A thorougly enjoyable stay. Nice neighborhood for strolling, shops, restaurants.

Room Tip: best room is the cortland; spacious, well-appointed, sunny, relaxing, street view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank monsoon7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
Shadyside
Mansions On Fifth Hotel
Mansions On Fifth Hotel
#56 of 68 in Pittsburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
Omni William Penn Hotel
#6 of 68 in Pittsburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Priory Hotel
#7 of 68 in Pittsburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn on Negley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn on Negley

Property: The Inn on Negley
Address: 703 S Negley Ave, Pittsburgh, PA 15232-2417
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh > Shadyside
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Inn on Negley 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn on Negley is an elegant dining and lodging establishment located in the historic Shadyside neighborhood of Pittsburgh. We are in easy walking distance from many of Pittsburgh's best restaurants and fabulous shops. Built in grand Victorian style in the late 1800s, the Inn is a luxurious option for romantic getaways, business travelers and visitors to the close-by universities and museums. We are open to the public daily for breakfast, afternoon high tea and our unique cookies and cocoa service, by appointment. Also, The Inn on Negley is the perfect venue for your special intimate gatherings, such as dinner parties, showers and business luncheons, fully catered by our talented chefs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your The Inn on Negley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn On Negley Hotel Pittsburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing