We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming experience!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn on Negley

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pittsburgh
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Inn on Negley
Save
You added The Inn on Negley to your Saves list
703 South Negley Ave., Pittsburgh, PA 15232 (Shadyside)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 10 Pittsburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
62 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Charming experience!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

My husband and I stayed here recently for our 21st anniversary on 11/2. We stay a lot in the city of Pittsburgh so we are used to the usual four star hotel experience. This was something special. From the moment we walked in, we were greeted so warmly. The decor of the Inn itself was unique and homey. We stayed in the Cortland suite. It was spacious and lovely and we appreciated all the special touches such as robes and slippers and the luxurious L'Occitane bath products. The two staff members we encountered were helpful and sweet without being overbearing. Before leaving for dinner at Casbah, we enjoyed complimentary wine and cheese in the cozy dining area and chatted with a few other guests which was very nice, In the morning, they had an amazing breakfast ready at the time you allot. I had the pumpkin pancakes which were heavenly and very much appreciated given the Fall season. What a jewel tucked so close to the city, Before we left, I reserved for Valentines weekend so we can look forward to another incredible experience, The owner(s) of this Inn should be proud to own and run such a gem and also be proud of their wonderful staff who helped make the experience even nicer. We will be back without one doubt.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Toledo, OH
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

My husband and I have a daughter in Pittsburgh and were set for a weekend at the Inn in Oct. 2011. Two days before our arrival my husband went into the hospital for serious medical reasons; over the next two months he went through some harrowing medical events and it took him six months to fully recover. But the nights we were due to be at the Inn he was in intensive care at the hospital. The Inn charged us for one of those nights because they couldn't fill the room. One would think even an offer of a discount in the future would be a nice gesture, but I could hardly get the reservation person to return our call. Not even the airlines turn their backs on this kind of surprise turn of events, but the Inn on Negley does.

Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
9 Thank travelers015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellicott City, Maryland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We celebrated our 5 year anniversary here and the inn is beautiful. The food and service were top notch. It's in a very nice neighborhood within walking distance to shops and restaurants. The only downside to our stay was that the Redskins lost.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Mass
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We recently spent a few nights at the Inn on Negley during a visit to Pittsburgh to attend my wife's high school reunion (we won't say which one :-). We found it a very pleasant, nicely appointed place to stay, right in the heart of my wife's old stomping grounds -- an easy walk to many familiar places evoking numerous memories of the area.

The inn itself is well-maintained, and we found the staff to be friendly and helpful. Our room was nicely furnished and comfortable, and we had everything needed for an enjoyable stay. Based on reviews and research, we had judged this to be the best inn in the area for our visit, and we weren't disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yesod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

to say about our three night stay at The Inn on Negley. Just wish we had not been so involved in a wedding so we could have stayed another day, and had tea. It looked lovely. Our room was perfection, as was the staff and the breakfasts. Let's also mention all the special attentions which were graciously lavished on the wedding party. Not only gracious staff, but eager to please. Bet we'll go back again and again......there can't be a better place to stay in Pittsburgh.

Room Tip: We had one of the three rooms on the third floor, the Empire. Yes it is a hike, but we considered th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank April M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
45 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

This inn was incredible; the staff was freindly, courteous, efficient, professional, helpful with suggestions of attractions, restaurants, and best routes to take. The room was fabulous with period furniture, fluffy towels, and all the ammenities. Breakfasts were done to perfection, served with a flourish, with a variety of 'starters' each day. And, of course, cookies in the early afternoon and wine in the evening. A thorougly enjoyable stay. Nice neighborhood for strolling, shops, restaurants.

Room Tip: best room is the cortland; spacious, well-appointed, sunny, relaxing, street view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank monsoon7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnstown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Our daughters present to us for our 40th anniversary was a night at the Inn at Negley. Everything about the Inn was wonderful. The staff was excellent and very hospitable. The breakfast was absolutely scrumptious. It was very interesting looking at the log in the room's desk to see who had stayed in the room before us. We stayed in the McIntosh room. The bed was SO very comfy and the room was very spacious and spotless. You won't be disappointed with a stay here!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
3.5 mi away
Omni William Penn Hotel
Omni William Penn Hotel
#5 of 62 in Pittsburgh
4.5 of 5 stars 2,880 reviews
0.3 mi away
Shadyside Inn All Suites Hotel
3.5 mi away
Hotel Monaco Pittsburgh
Hotel Monaco Pittsburgh
#2 of 62 in Pittsburgh
4.5 of 5 stars 311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
The Priory Hotel
The Priory Hotel
#12 of 62 in Pittsburgh
4.5 of 5 stars 584 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Indigo Pittsburgh East Liberty
0.5 mi away
Mansions On Fifth Hotel
Mansions On Fifth Hotel
#6 of 10 in Pittsburgh
4.0 of 5 stars 115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn on Negley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn on Negley

Address: 703 South Negley Ave., Pittsburgh, PA 15232
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh > Shadyside
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn on Negley is an elegant dining and lodging establishment located in the historic Shadyside neighborhood of Pittsburgh. We are in easy walking distance from many of Pittsburgh's best restaurants and fabulous shops. Built in grand Victorian style in the late 1800s, the Inn is a luxurious option for romantic getaways, business travelers and visitors to the close-by universities and museums. We are open to the public daily for breakfast, afternoon high tea and our unique cookies and cocoa service, by appointment. Also, The Inn on Negley is the perfect venue for your special intimate gatherings, such as dinner parties, showers and business luncheons, fully catered by our talented chefs. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Inn On Negley Hotel Pittsburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing