We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hard-hearted Inn on Negly.”
Review of The Inn on Negley

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Inn on Negley
Ranked #1 of 11 Pittsburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 4, 2012

My husband and I have a daughter in Pittsburgh and were set for a weekend at the Inn in Oct. 2011. Two days before our arrival my husband went into the hospital for serious medical reasons; over the next two months he went through some harrowing medical events and it took him six months to fully recover. But the nights we were due to be at the Inn he was in intensive care at the hospital. The Inn charged us for one of those nights because they couldn't fill the room. One would think even an offer of a discount in the future would be a nice gesture, but I could hardly get the reservation person to return our call. Not even the airlines turn their backs on this kind of surprise turn of events, but the Inn on Negley does.

Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
10  Thank travelers015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (260)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

168 - 174 of 260 reviews

Reviewed October 29, 2012

We celebrated our 5 year anniversary here and the inn is beautiful. The food and service were top notch. It's in a very nice neighborhood within walking distance to shops and restaurants. The only downside to our stay was that the Redskins lost.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We recently spent a few nights at the Inn on Negley during a visit to Pittsburgh to attend my wife's high school reunion (we won't say which one :-). We found it a very pleasant, nicely appointed place to stay, right in the heart of my wife's old stomping grounds -- an easy walk to many familiar places evoking numerous memories of the area.

The inn itself is well-maintained, and we found the staff to be friendly and helpful. Our room was nicely furnished and comfortable, and we had everything needed for an enjoyable stay. Based on reviews and research, we had judged this to be the best inn in the area for our visit, and we weren't disappointed.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yesod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

to say about our three night stay at The Inn on Negley. Just wish we had not been so involved in a wedding so we could have stayed another day, and had tea. It looked lovely. Our room was perfection, as was the staff and the breakfasts. Let's also mention all the special attentions which were graciously lavished on the wedding party. Not only gracious staff, but eager to please. Bet we'll go back again and again......there can't be a better place to stay in Pittsburgh.

Room Tip: We had one of the three rooms on the third floor, the Empire. Yes it is a hike, but we considered th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank April M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

This inn was incredible; the staff was freindly, courteous, efficient, professional, helpful with suggestions of attractions, restaurants, and best routes to take. The room was fabulous with period furniture, fluffy towels, and all the ammenities. Breakfasts were done to perfection, served with a flourish, with a variety of 'starters' each day. And, of course, cookies in the early afternoon and wine in the evening. A thorougly enjoyable stay. Nice neighborhood for strolling, shops, restaurants.

Room Tip: best room is the cortland; spacious, well-appointed, sunny, relaxing, street view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank monsoon7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Our daughters present to us for our 40th anniversary was a night at the Inn at Negley. Everything about the Inn was wonderful. The staff was excellent and very hospitable. The breakfast was absolutely scrumptious. It was very interesting looking at the log in the room's desk to see who had stayed in the room before us. We stayed in the McIntosh room. The bed was SO very comfy and the room was very spacious and spotless. You won't be disappointed with a stay here!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paula P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Wonderful stay! Pleased in every way! Sweet smiling always ready to help staff! Beautiful accommodations we wanted for nothing! Location was perfect with easy walking to restaurants and shopping, easy walking to bus routes and close driving to university areas. Just can't say enough good about the entire weekend. Try it you will like it!
Barbara H

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
Fairmont Pittsburgh
#6 of 72 in Pittsburgh
862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Omni William Penn Hotel
#7 of 72 in Pittsburgh
4,326 reviews
Shadyside
Mansions On Fifth Hotel
Mansions On Fifth Hotel
#43 of 72 in Pittsburgh
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn on Negley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn on Negley

Address: 703 S Negley Ave, Pittsburgh, PA 15232-2417
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh > Shadyside
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Pittsburgh
Price Range: $206 - $275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Inn on Negley 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn on Negley is an elegant dining and lodging establishment located in the historic Shadyside neighborhood of Pittsburgh. We are in easy walking distance from many of Pittsburgh's best restaurants and fabulous shops. Built in grand Victorian style in the late 1800s, the Inn is a luxurious option for romantic getaways, business travelers and visitors to the close-by universities and museums. We are open to the public daily for breakfast, afternoon high tea and our unique cookies and cocoa service, by appointment. Also, The Inn on Negley is the perfect venue for your special intimate gatherings, such as dinner parties, showers and business luncheons, fully catered by our talented chefs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your The Inn on Negley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn On Negley Hotel Pittsburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing