We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful getaway”
Review of The Inn on Negley

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Inn on Negley
Ranked #1 of 11 Pittsburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 1, 2012

I am embarrassed to have let two months go by before writing a review of this wonderful B&B. My husband and I planned a two night getaway, but didn't want to go too far in the winter. This B&B exceeded our expectations. We added the afternoon tea for our first day, and it was wonderful. The staff was friendly and helpful. The Inn is in walking distance to many restaurants and shops in the Shadyside area, so there is much you can do without ever moving your car. We stayed on the third floor since some reviews had mentioned street noise, and we did not have a problem. I highly recommend.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank libbie_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (255)
There are newer reviews for The Inn on Negley
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

180 - 186 of 255 reviews

Reviewed March 27, 2012

The room and inn were comfortable and elegant. Easy walking to shopping, restaurants, gym. A highlight was High Tea with family and friends, delicious sandwiches, pastries and pleasant, knowledgeable tea service. Attentive staff and exception breakfasts. Indoor and outdoor relaxing spaces.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dasmith04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2012

I recently stayed at the Inn on Negley because I was in Pittsburgh for work. I can't say enough good things about my stay. I felt completely comfortable there: cared for - but not watched over, which is sometimes an issue at bed and breakfasts. The rooms were clean and cozy. And the bathrooms spacious. I also loved the tea that was available all day. And the area of town is also quite nice - although not within walking distance of the universities. And I loved that there was a full-service fitness center that one could use nearby (for a small fee).

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GroteAppel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2012

Ambiance was cozy, comfortable and totally relaxing. Gas fire place and jacuzzi in Courtland room was perfect. I was taking my teen granddaughters for a one night get away. I slept on the roll away which was very comfortable for a roll away, but the bed was heavenly. The staff was warm, helpful and gave us an upgrade room for the corporate price, but after paying for the extras (roll away, $30 for extra people and hefty taxes) it ran $275 for one night. Ouch! The walls are paper thin so even though we were talking in low voices we received a call that we were making too much noise. The heavy traffic on Negley and the voices and TV noises from other rooms made this not the optimum stay for the price. Loved the looks of the rooms and staff (Victorian).

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank emunah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2011

My wife and I only visit Pittsburgh during the Thanksgiving holidays and I wanted to treat her to something special. The Inn on Negley was even more than I had hoped with beautiful decorations, exceptional furnishings, and a very warm and friendly staff. We were so pampered that it was difficult to leave. This Inn is truly a gem operated by good people.

Room Tip: The Cortland is a spacious room with a view, a warm fireplace, beautiful furnishings and a wonderful...
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank William F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2011

Loved the comfy bed, the fantastic breakfasts (oh, my!) and the evening treats. Landscaping was beautiful-a treat to the eye. Hope to return.

Room Tip: Not for those who can not make stairs-more for billy goats!
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joyce r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2011

Took my wife for a quick getaway weekend to this B&B. Friendly staff and beautiful rooms. Recommend if you are looking for a charming place to stay in Pittsburgh, PA!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Philip E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
Omni William Penn Hotel
#6 of 71 in Pittsburgh
4,192 reviews
Shadyside
Mansions On Fifth Hotel
Mansions On Fifth Hotel
#44 of 71 in Pittsburgh
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomfield
Hyatt House Pittsburgh / Bloomfield / Shadyside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn on Negley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn on Negley

Address: 703 S Negley Ave, Pittsburgh, PA 15232-2417
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh > Shadyside
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Pittsburgh
Price Range: $205 - $250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Inn on Negley 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn on Negley is an elegant dining and lodging establishment located in the historic Shadyside neighborhood of Pittsburgh. We are in easy walking distance from many of Pittsburgh's best restaurants and fabulous shops. Built in grand Victorian style in the late 1800s, the Inn is a luxurious option for romantic getaways, business travelers and visitors to the close-by universities and museums. We are open to the public daily for breakfast, afternoon high tea and our unique cookies and cocoa service, by appointment. Also, The Inn on Negley is the perfect venue for your special intimate gatherings, such as dinner parties, showers and business luncheons, fully catered by our talented chefs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia and Orbitz so you can book your The Inn on Negley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn On Negley Hotel Pittsburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing