We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stylish attention to detail”
Review of The Inn on Negley

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Inn on Negley
Ranked #1 of 11 Pittsburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 14, 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights and were very well accommodated - we were even offered an extra room at a much reduced rate when a friend joined us.
The house is very elegant, the staff were all delightful and very helpful and the breakfasts were absolutely delicious.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KeziahLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (262)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

212 - 218 of 262 reviews

Reviewed April 5, 2011

I discovered the Inn on Negley accidentally, about 7 or 8 years ago. I grew up in Pittsburgh, moved away to London, and would return every year for Christmas to see my relatives. Due to my sis having dogs (I'm allergic), I had to stay in hotels. I've tried them all. Some nice, but all were the standard, impersonal hotel fare. I then found the Inn on Negley, which has totally transformed my experience of coming to Pittsburgh. Now I have 2 small children, associate the Inn with Christmas time, and love their time there. My wife, who is English, absolutely adores the Inn on Negley. In all our travels, European and American, we have never found an Inn or hotel with the combination of charm, attention to detail, quality of service staff and food, and location that the Inn on Negley offers. In any tourist location they could easily fill the hotel at triple the rates in Pittsburgh. Believe me, do not waste your time sniffing around and trying different places. It's a waste of time. This place is amazing, and after the first day, you'll share my feelings.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RobinUKUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2011

We truly enjoyed our stay...need to work a bit on the delivery of breakfast

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheflizzyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2011

I would highly recommend the Inn. It is beautifully and tastefully decorated with quality furniture and artwork. All the decorative items are carefully selected, fortunately there is no frilly lace or fluffy "over the top" decor that can be present in some B and Bs.The bed was incredibly comfortable, pillows were so soft yet supportive that I ordered 2 for home! I stayed in the spacious Cortland suite with a cozy fireplace and huge bathroom. The common areas in the Inn are warm and inviting with open fires in the fireplaces and soothing, yet quiet music playing. In the afternoons, there are complimentary tea and pastries and later, wine and cheese. Coffee and tea are available 24 hours a day. The innkeepers are very helpful, professional and kind, they are attentive and knowledgable and provided excellent recommendations for area restaurants. The owner even came out in a snow storm to pick me up when I was stranded at a restaurant and no taxis would come for pick up.
The Inn is in an excellent location of Shadyside, near the medical centers, UPitt and Carnegie Melon and within walking distance to excellent restaurants and shops. I so enjoyed my stay that I will be returning back this summer.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NCtraveler06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2011

We did not stay here; we only visited for afternoon tea. (But we hope to return for an overnight visit someday).
We have had several afternoon tea experiences in England (including the Orangerie, London, and the Pump Room, Bath) and in the US. The Fernwood TeaRoom in the Inn on Negley by far tops them all. Simply a relaxing, slow-paced, chef-prepared, professional service, and only $20 per person.
Jackie greeted us with a short explanation of the tea menu and service, then left us for a few minutes to peruse our menus and decide or ask questions. She also encouraged us to switch to a different tea with the dessert selections. The atmosphere was warm and inviting, the room elegant (not over-the-top Victorian tacky, which is sadly the norm in American tea rooms), the food of fresh, gourmet quality.
The sandwiches, scones, and dessert items were served on 3-tiered silver trays, the tea in bone china. The tea selection was extensive, varied, and high-quality.
A very pleasant and memorable afternoon. We doubt we'll ever find a better tea experience in the States (or overseas for that matter).

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank savvyaztravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2010

The Inn on Negley is a bit pricey -especially on weekends-but worth it. If you are visiting on University business or a medical visit at UPMC, skip the other choices and stay here. Wonderful rooms with fireplaces, great bedding, a gourmet chef prepared breakfast, and afternoon tea and treats. The owners go beyond your expectations to provide everything you need for a comfortable stay. Safe, secure location and really a treat in beautiful Shadyside. Walk around and see teh beautiful old mansions and then relax back at your cozy room.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bodaman043
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2010

This was our fourth stay at the Inn in the past 14 months. We absolutely love it! Liz, the innkeeper, cannot do enough for her guests, whether it is offering food or sightseeing tips. The breakfast is full, hot and made to order. The afternoon features delicious cookies and beverages, with wine and cheese before the dinner hour. The rooms are elegantly decorated, with beautiful bathrooms. We wish the windows were noise proof, as there is sometimes a fair amount of traffic noise outside, but it is in a city afterall. Overall, our favorite B and B in the US!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelizzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
Omni William Penn Hotel
#7 of 72 in Pittsburgh
4,375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shadyside
Mansions On Fifth Hotel
Mansions On Fifth Hotel
#44 of 72 in Pittsburgh
53 reviews
Fairmont Pittsburgh
#6 of 72 in Pittsburgh
868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn on Negley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn on Negley

Address: 703 S Negley Ave, Pittsburgh, PA 15232-2417
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh > Shadyside
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Pittsburgh
Price Range: $204 - $267 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Inn on Negley 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn on Negley is an elegant dining and lodging establishment located in the historic Shadyside neighborhood of Pittsburgh. We are in easy walking distance from many of Pittsburgh's best restaurants and fabulous shops. Built in grand Victorian style in the late 1800s, the Inn is a luxurious option for romantic getaways, business travelers and visitors to the close-by universities and museums. We are open to the public daily for breakfast, afternoon high tea and our unique cookies and cocoa service, by appointment. Also, The Inn on Negley is the perfect venue for your special intimate gatherings, such as dinner parties, showers and business luncheons, fully catered by our talented chefs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your The Inn on Negley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn On Negley Hotel Pittsburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing