We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Free Shuttle Service was a great addition!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh North Shore
Ranked #26 of 70 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
State College, PA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Free Shuttle Service was a great addition!”
Reviewed October 19, 2008

The room was nicely sized, and comfortable and the breakfast buffet was tasty and had lots of variety (hot and cold). The BEST feature of the hotel, however, was the free shuttle service. They take you anywhere within a 3 mile radius (which basically is anywhere in downtown Pittsburgh) and then pick you up when you're through. The shuttle runs until 11:30 pm. We utilized this service all weekend -- we didn't have to move our car from the parking lot. The staff was very friendly was well (especially the shuttle drivers). We will definitely stay here again when we come back to the 'burgh.

  • Liked — Free shuttle service
  • Disliked — $18 parking per night
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PSUCoasterfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

596 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    284
    226
    64
    9
    13
See reviews for
228
136
15
93
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2008

Great locations are always written like- " close to attraction or airport" etc. This hotel is in fact accross the street from PNC and shares the same parking lot with Heinz field. How much closer do you need?? Great staff in AM getting everyone fed at the free breakfast bar. Lots of choices for the kids and adults in the breakfast area. Staff really keeps everything stocked and hot foods keep coming out. Rooms are nice and roomy for 4-6 people. (get fold out couch) Fridge and microwave and sink in room add to the value. Be aware during home football games for the former good team, Steelers, the hotel is packed and Sunday morning can be crowded at the breakfast bar. Spend evenings at one of the many local watering holes on the same street or walk to Jerome Bettis place and watch sports on the many TV's. Nice view of city lights from some upper floors. Will stay at this location for any event in Pittsburgh. Also this hotel is a great place to stay if your team is playing the college team Pitt. panthers, Heinz field is less than 5 min. walk through the parking lot.

  • Liked — Location, room size, breakfast bar, staff
  • Disliked — everything, yes everything was great.
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank elkameno59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviewed September 3, 2008

Went for baseball. Location can't be beat. Staff were very friendly and helpful, clean and well-laid out rooms. Very comprehensive (free) breakfast buffet. Pool/hot tub but always full of kids. (Notice to hotels: Please have 10:00-11:00pm "adults only" times in your pools. Love kids, but not when I'd like to relax). Parking was $18, but you can walk to everything in downtown from hotel. Plus they have a free shuttle that will take you 3 miles. I'd highly recommend this for baseball and exploring Pittsburgh.

  • Liked — Location (PNC Park,
  • Disliked — pool full of kids
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JJHardy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slinger, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2008

Just got back from a Labor Day road trip to watch our Milwaukee Brewers take on the Pittsburgh Pirates. What a great trip it was! Our stay at the Springhill Suites couldn't have been any better. Everything was spotlessly clean--and I look for dirt!! The whole hotel had a fresh smell because the entire hotel is smoke free-wonderful! Every employee we encountered was very pleasant-from the front desk, to the shuttle driver (who graciously rescued us from the top of the Incline at Station Square after it broke down!), to the breakfast attendants, the pool operators, and the housekeeping staff. Very helpful and always smiling! After a late baseball game how nice it was to walk out of the stadium, cross the street, and be "home" in about 2 minutes!! Although we heard very faint "street noise" after the night game, it was nothing that could keep anyone awake--just kind of like background noise. I was a little concerned about noise because we were right next to the elevators, but heard nothing but a faint sound when they ran. Never heard any other noises from inside the hotel. The bed and bedding were very nice and comfortable, and the pull out sofa got a thumbs up for comfort from both of our boys. The variety at breakfast was wonderful and always well stocked. We ate breakfast within the first hour it was open, and had no trouble either morning finding a spot for the four of us to sit. However, toward the last hour of breakfast we were walking through the lobby and noticed quite a mob of people, however, it was fairly easy to take it back to your room to eat--lots of to-go containers were available at each station. This was one of the most pleasant hotel experiences I have ever had. They even send you a reminder e-mail about a week before your reservation outlining your room information, providing directions and maps etc.. Nice customer service touch I thought. Also nice FREE Internet and Printer available in the lobby. If you ever get to visit PNC Park and need a place to stay--you won't be disappointed staying at the Springhill Suites!

  • Liked — Cleanliness/Location/Great Service
  • Disliked — Pool size
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank kensethfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2008

We were going to Pittsburgh for a wedding just outside the city. We wanted to stay somewhere in the city. This hotel was absolutely perfect. It is right next to the baseball stadium and across the street from downtown. But on this side of the river you are one block from a park that goes all along the river down 3 blocks to the football stadium and right at the corner of three rivers. You can look across the river and see the tram that goes up the hill. Pittsburgh is the city of bridges and this hotel is right in the middle of them so you can cross over the bridge and go to downtown. At night the bridges are lighted and we ate dinenr along the river. Before the wedding we walked along the river and they were celebrating the 250th birthday of Pittsburgh and there were fire engines shooting water off into the river and places you could rent kayaks. They also closed off the bridge and had music in the streets and a car show. There is a also a small waterfall area you can walk in to cool off your feet. My kids thought the city was great and the hotel seemed to be in a very safe area. There are plenty of places to eat and drink. We were very impressed with Pittsburgh. The hotel's breakfast was good with eggs, sausage, waffles etc. I did check to make sure there was no baseball game in town because of the reviews that said breakfast was crowded. I can only imagine in that we usually made it down towards the end of breakfast which was 10 am on weekends and even with the hotel almost empty we would have to wait a few minutes for a table. The rooms were large and very clean and had a wall separating the bed room from the living room. The staff was pleasant and helpful and the hotel had a bar on the first floor which was very convenient..I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ToddNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, VA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2008

This was a perfect hotel experience from start to finish! The front desk staff was helpful and polite... couldn't be any nicer! The complimentary shuttle was a wonderful perk- we didnt have to navigate Pittsburgh's tricky streets...and didnt have to search for parking either! The rooms were well apppointed- love the microwave in the room! The location of this hotel was perfect- we walked to lots of attractions...even with 5 kids among our group! The breakfast was ideal for our group- a warm meal to start off busy days! We will definitely stay here again on our return trip to Pittsburgh!

  • Liked — Location and Shuttle service
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thebaits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
68 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2008

I spent a night here with some friends for a fun evening out. Everything was clean and the staff was very friendly. I especially liked that the entire hotel was non-smoking.

We ate dinner at SoHo, the hotel restaurant and it was good, but a bit pricey. However, the breakfast was above average.

The best thing about this hotel is that it's right in the middle of all the North Shore action. I would recommend this hotel to anyone!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — $18/day parking charge
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank am84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Pittsburgh North Shore
0.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Pittsburgh North Shore
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Pittsburgh-North Shore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown
0.6 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Pittsburgh Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh North Shore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh North Shore

Property: SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh North Shore
Address: 223 Federal St, Pittsburgh, PA 15212-5709
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Pittsburgh
#16 Family Hotel in Pittsburgh
#19 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh North Shore 3*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When visiting Pittsburgh, enjoy a refreshing hotel experience at the SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh - North Shore. Designed for the modern lifestyle, SpringHill Suites invites you to relax in studio suites 25% larger than typical hotel rooms with sleeping, dining and work areas. Join us daily for our complimentary hot breakfast buffet and work out in our new fitness facility or unwind in our indoor pool. For the business traveler our hotel is located just minutes away from many of Pittsburgh's major corporations. For the sports fans we're perfectly situated across the street from PNC Park, within a half mile from Heinz Field, one mile from Consol Energy Center. Feeling lucky, try your luck at The Rivers Casino featuring slots and table games. Parking is an additional cost at the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Marriott, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotel.de, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh North Shore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites North Shore Hotel Pittsburgh
Springhill Suites Pittsburgh
Pittsburgh Springhill Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing