We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Good Location On North Shore” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh North Shore

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh North Shore
Ranked #28 of 68 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Carmel, Indiana
Level Contributor
91 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Good Location On North Shore”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2014

This facility is clean and comfortable. Our room was large and had a separating wall from bedroom to living room area. It's very convenient to attend a Pittsburgh Pirates game as we walked across the street to attend the opening day game. They have an excellent free breakfast available for three hours a day. They provide a free shuttle service to various places in the city. This is a nice service because it's not an easy city to drive, park or walk around.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bookroxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joshua K, Manager at SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh North Shore, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Means a lot to the staff here that we were able to be part of such a special evening for you both. We know that it can be rare moments that guest's are able to escape their day to day and get down here to relax and enjoy everything the North Shore of Pittsburgh has to offer. We appreciate all the comments and feedback you have provided and only hope to be your desired location for the next anniversary or just a getaway out on the town. A smile and comfortable bed will always be waiting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

541 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    252
    206
    61
    9
    13
See reviews for
203
129
12
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Copley, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2014

The week after our wedding anniversary, my wife and I left the kids at home and traveled to Pittsburgh where we stayed at the SpringHill Suites. It is located immediately across the street from PNC Park where the Pittsburgh Pirates play and very close to just about everything else.
We arrived about 8:45 PM on a Friday. When I walked inside I was immediately met with a smile by one of the workers at the front desk. He was very courteous and helpful. He knew that I was a rewards member and treated me wonderfully. He indicated where I was to park, gave me my room keys and I was off.
We were put in a 1 bedroom suite that was plenty big and had a king size bed. The room had a sink & fridge in the common area as well as a desk setup for working.
The water pressure was good. The bed was comfortable. Everything went well with the stay.

Pros - I used my Marriott Rewards points and we were able to stay for free. Comfortable, clean bed. Fantastic staff. Awesome view. Fairly quiet although next to a major interstate highway. The breakfast smelled wonderful, although we did not eat there.

Cons - I dislike the bathroom sink being in a different room than the toilet. This was the case with the other SpringHill Suites that we stayed (Cincinnati, OH). That breeds bacteria on the inside door handle when leaving the toilet / shower area unless the handle is wiped down all the time.
Also, the toilet tissue holder was too far away from the toilet. Adults probably wouldn't have a problem reaching, but certainly children will.
Finally, the $19 cost to park in the parking lot is steep. However, it is the cheapest in the area and I understand the necessity.

I would definitely recommend staying at this hotel!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shaun M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Bear
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2014

I was in Pittsburgh for two nights on business. We got in late the first night, and the guy at the check in was friendly, helpful, got us checked in quickly. The room was really nice, quiet, comfortable king bed. The breakfast was OK - not the greatest hotel breakfast but perfectly sufficient for a quick bite on a workday.

The offer a shuttle to downtown locations, but we didn't end up needing it. It appeared that it was available, and I saw lots of business people using it.

Interactions with the staff were all positive. If I go the 'Burgh again, I'd stay here.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PeggyoftheEast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2014

I had to.travel to Pittsburgh for work and chose the Springhill Suites North Shore. The staff at this hotel was amazing. I had a very rough week and ended up being somewhat "high maintenance". I needed to print and fax documents, transportation to a few locations, directions, recommendations,, etc. the staff could not have been more helpful and patient!!!! They made this trip successful for me.

The hotel itself is also very nice. I had a king room and was very comfortable the entire time.

I would definitely recommend this hotel for both business and pleasure.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Boiler82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagstaff, Arizona
Level Contributor
691 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2014

I stayed here for business one night. Carpet was being replaced in the lobby so things were a bit torn up. A bit expensive considering nothing was going on in the area. Breakfast was average, not as good as other Springhill Suites I've stayed at recently. Adjacent restaurant, Soho, is more like a dark sportsbar but did a fine job on my to-go Caesar wrap. The hotel is directly across from PNC Park so location can't be beat for this. There is a Residence Inn across the large parking lot if you want another option.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CleopatraBunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joshua K, Manager at SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh North Shore, responded to this review, April 6, 2014
It is a constant concern of ours to always keep our hotel looking fresh and well maintained for our guest's. Certainly wanted to look our best to welcome the new Pittsburgh Pirates season and their fans that follow. Also happy to hear you enjoyed a take out meal from our upscale sports bar that offers a more intimate setting for its customers. Springhill Suites always wants to make sure every stay at all our locations is matched in perfection and we will of course make sure our quality of our breakfast items compares to other properties. We thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and look forward to your next visit with us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Youngstown, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2014 via mobile

This place usually costs a lot more. My girlfriend and I stayed here because of their proximity to a lot of places we wanted to visit. Wonderful service. Free shuttle. Clean room. Comfy bed. Awesome breakfast (except the bacon).
Staff couldn't have been more accommodating.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ChrisTygt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joshua K, Front Office Manager at SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh North Shore, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Want to thank you for your review of our hotel and your experience with the staff. We understand your travel needs and always want to ensure the best service at the best possible price. Of course your morning here will always be complete with our upscale breakfast buffet and will continue to add and switch up healthy options. Look forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

Stayed at this hotel for one night only. But i loved my stay there.

First the hotel is not very expensive. You get a good bang for your buck. Its in a very good location, near the stadium and a lots of restaurants near by.
Hotel is very near and clean. i liked how they have organized their rooms. The rooms are very spacious. They have a free shuttle service to a few miles close to the hotel which is great. They drop you and pick you up for free!The front desk staff is extremely helpful!!

Just a few things they could improve upon: Could have placed a bottle of drinking water in the fridge. One of the drivers for the shuttle (the african american guy) is very rude. He needs to go.

Over all a great place to stay!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Naveenraj1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joshua K, Front Office Manager at SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh North Shore, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
We know how valuable you buck is to you and ensure a comparable and competitive rate when staying with us. As for the positive comments you provided I couldnt have said it better myself. Although we are very disappointed to hear one of our staff members was unable to continue the outstanding customer service we pride ourselves so highly on. We would be very interested in hearing your interaction with the employee so we know where and how to make improvements in that individuals commitment to serving our guests properly. Always feel free to contact us through email or calling the hotel directly. Thanks again for your comments and choosing Springhill Suites North Shore.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
0.2 mi away
Residence Inn Pittsburgh North Shore
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Pittsburgh-North Shore
0.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Pittsburgh North Shore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel
0.5 mi away
Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh North Shore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh North Shore

Property: SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh North Shore
Address: 223 Federal St, Pittsburgh, PA 15212-5709
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Pittsburgh
#16 Family Hotel in Pittsburgh
#19 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh North Shore 3*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When visiting Pittsburgh, enjoy a refreshing hotel experience at the SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh - North Shore. Designed for the modern lifestyle, SpringHill Suites invites you to relax in studio suites 25% larger than typical hotel rooms with sleeping, dining and work areas. Join us daily for our complimentary hot breakfast buffet and work out in our new fitness facility or unwind in our indoor pool. For the business traveler our hotel is located just minutes away from many of Pittsburgh's major corporations. For the sports fans we're perfectly situated across the street from PNC Park, within a half mile from Heinz Field, one mile from Consol Energy Center. Feeling lucky, try your luck at The Rivers Casino featuring slots and table games. Parking is an additional cost at the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Marriott, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh North Shore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites North Shore Hotel Pittsburgh
Springhill Suites Pittsburgh
Pittsburgh Springhill Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing