We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for catching a game at PNC”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh North Shore
Ranked #25 of 70 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great place for catching a game at PNC”
Reviewed July 15, 2012

We stayed just one night at the hotel to watch a baseball game. The hotel was well maintained and clean. The location could not be beat. We were able to se PNC Park right from our window, as we were just across the street from it. The staff was courteous and helpful. The rooms were spacious enough for the four of us. I wish I would have had more time to use the facilities as the hotel had a nice indoor pool and workout room.

I wasn't very excited to have to pay for parking, but it was cheaper than the lot next door and it was also safe.

We also got the Andy Warhol ticket package and were able to walk to the museum, which was only two blocks away. If you are going to watch a baseball game, I highly recommend staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sumisukuri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

596 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    284
    226
    64
    9
    13
See reviews for
228
136
15
93
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012

My husband and I brought our children to Pittsburgh to enjoy a Pirates game and some great sights around the city. We chose SpringHill Suites North Shore because of its VERY close proximity to PNC Park. The hotel was wonderful, even with renovations taking place in the lobby. The staff was professional and friendly. We loved having the option to use the shuttle service, and the driver was terrific. The free breakfast provided enough choices for our family. The room was large with 2 queen beds and a sofa bed. Our only complaint was the very thin mattress on the sofa bed. We have stayed at other Marriott brand hotels with sofa beds that were quite comfortable. My husband used the gym and was very impressed with it. The hotel was quiet. We would definitely return again!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colleen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottdale, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2012

Great location for sports lovers and a weekend away on the North Shore in Pittsburgh, PA. Close to PNC park and Heintz field. Also the Carnegie Science center and Rivers Casino. SpringHill Suites has wonderful rooms, a pool, a gym and a bar attached. There is a free breakfast buffet that includes hot and cold items.
The staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bbw1222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Normal, Illinois
Level Contributor
53 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

perfect location! for pirate (directly across street) and steeler games. 2-3 blocks from T (subway) and very short walk to river and crossing bridge into downtown. Held family reunion (32 people) and lobby was perfect for visiting in morning and evening. Room across from elevator - 2nd floor above main entrance but room layout and AC was enough that we didn't hear any noises. Stayed weekend. Forgot to leave soap one day and didn't vac floors during stay. Very big rooms for everyone in our party, plenty of open space. Sink is outside shower/toilet bathroom so getting ready is within living area. Room decor is not lavish but very adequate. 2 Qn beds were comfortable. Pool is adequate size, never feeling crowded. Front desk staff extremely nice in meeting our needs. Served snow cones, lemonade during evening which was really nice. Breakfast was very good with nice variety. GPS struggled with finding the road you're on due to interstate/highways running over local roads near hotel so be sure you know how to locate interstate ramps before exiting hotel parking ahead of time. Will definitely stay there again whenever staying downtown!

Room Tip: Try to avoid backside (east side) of hotel which overlooks several bars. Our room was west side of b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1Steelers1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
howell, nj
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Just came home from a week stay... Had a great time in Pittsburgh, Pa! This hotel could not have been better. Great location, great service, friendly staff. Hotel shuttle was perfect.. Especially After our 6 hour drive! We visited Consol Energy Center, Carnegie Science Center, National Aviary, Heinz Field and of course a Pirate game! Great fun!! Fourth of July fireworks were beautiful along the waterfront.
Hotel staff was very helpful in every way! Would definitely return!!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daisy07731
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2012

Spent two nights at the Springhill Suites directly across the street from PNC Park. Good points were a pleasant staff, very clean room, and perfect location for a Pirates game. Free wifi from the rooms.
Not so good were paper thin walls, even thinner towels, and the annoying layout of the bathroom Why in the world would they place the toilet paper holder three feet from the toilet? Also, No grab bar in the bathroom, so watch your step getting out of the shower/tub.
Very nice continental breakfast and the staff there were doing their best to keep up, but for the size of the hotel, they really need a larger dining area. Both mornings, week day and week end,were packed, and we had to wait for someone to vacate a table.
Renovations are going on in the lobby ( warned ahead of time on their web site ), so that may account for some confusion. Hopefully they will expand the breakfast area.
We stayed previously at the Residence Inn just up the street from the Springhill Suites, and that was much better for about the same price.

Room Tip: Hard to avoid noise from inside or outside the hotel. You're next to the ball field and a freew...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lvs2cruz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2012

This is a good hotel, with breakfast and across the street from the PNC entrance. The parking is extra $19 which is not an exorbitant amount for parking for hotel and PNC park. Rooms are very small, but everything you need this there. Staff was pleasant and always helpful. We were there in May and returning to PNC next month, but will try the Residence Inn North Shore (still Marriott) this time.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mefo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Pittsburgh North Shore
0.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Pittsburgh North Shore
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Pittsburgh-North Shore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown
0.6 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Pittsburgh Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh North Shore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh North Shore

Property: SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh North Shore
Address: 223 Federal St, Pittsburgh, PA 15212-5709
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Pittsburgh
#16 Family Hotel in Pittsburgh
#19 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh North Shore 3*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When visiting Pittsburgh, enjoy a refreshing hotel experience at the SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh - North Shore. Designed for the modern lifestyle, SpringHill Suites invites you to relax in studio suites 25% larger than typical hotel rooms with sleeping, dining and work areas. Join us daily for our complimentary hot breakfast buffet and work out in our new fitness facility or unwind in our indoor pool. For the business traveler our hotel is located just minutes away from many of Pittsburgh's major corporations. For the sports fans we're perfectly situated across the street from PNC Park, within a half mile from Heinz Field, one mile from Consol Energy Center. Feeling lucky, try your luck at The Rivers Casino featuring slots and table games. Parking is an additional cost at the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh North Shore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites North Shore Hotel Pittsburgh
Springhill Suites Pittsburgh
Pittsburgh Springhill Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing