We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hotel and Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh North Shore
Ranked #26 of 71 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 13, 2011

Recently my husband and sisiter-in-law stayed at this hotel for a family graduation. The hotel was wonderful and the staff is terrific. The breakfast was delicious. The room was very comfortable.
We used the shuttle service to get to the graduation party. This service was fantastic. We walked across the bridge to downtown.
If you are going to a baseball or football game, this hotel is right across the street from both fields.
We did have to pay $18 a day for parking. This is high but seems normal for a downtown hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuzyD36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (634)
There are newer reviews for SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh North Shore
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

532 - 538 of 634 reviews

Reviewed May 1, 2011

I had the most awful night last night at this hotel. The room was hot and stuffy and the air conditioning unit, although controlled by a thermostat on the wall, was really a window unit. It first didn't work and then when I called the front desk, they "fixed" it and said when the room reached a certain temperature, it would shut off, etc (like central air normally works). But it blew humid air out all night, it was noisy and I couldn't get any sleep. It was one of the most awful nights I've spent in recent memory. The linen was poor as well. I paid upwards of $200 for the night and I would say it was probably on par with any $50/night hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GeeLiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2011

We stayed at Springhill Suites for a vacation to Pittsburgh and were very glad we had chose Springhill. The front desk manager (gentleman) was so helpful and so nice!

LOCATION - It was the ideal location for the Heinz stadium, PNC Field, and great restaurants and bars within walking distance. There was even a casino and Carnegie science center within walking distance from our hotel.

TRANSPOTATION - The hotel had a shuttle that would take you to various parts of Pittsburgh which was great. We were able to get a shuttle to Heinz History Museum, Ducky Tours, and our Dinner Cruise. The shuttle drivers were very friendly and eager to pick you up at any time.

BREAKFAST- The breakfast was great here. It was buffet style and had a little bit of everything to choose from. The waffle maker and waffle toppings was the best! There was even a staff member standing with the waffle maker to help you at all times...she was great!

The ROOMS - The room was comfortable, clean and had no problems with AC...we were cool and comfrtable the whole time! We were near a main highway road, but it really didn't cause any disruptions or sleep disturbances. The noise level was tolerable and undisruptive. However, if there is a baseball game going on, it was quite loud in the room and we could hear everyting going on in the field!

The only downfall to this hotel was the pool. They do have an indoor pool, but it isn't very big and when my boyfriend and I went down to get in, there were lots of kids running around, so it wasn't very relaxing.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roxygurl761
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2011

We had a great stay at Spring Hill Suites. We were in town for a reception held at PNC Park. We had a king suite. It had a pretty good sized living room and separate bed area. The best thing about this room was there was no exposed outlets. Perfect for a toddler. There was enough room for him to run around. Our room was on the 10th floor with a great view of PNC Park. They also had a great breakfast too. They had everything from eggs to waffles, to cold cereal and toast. We all loved it. This hotel is across the street from PNC Park, near Heinz Field, and Carnegie Science Center. It seems like the perfect location!
The things I did not like about it was, the tv and dresser were pretty much in the way. There wasn't much space between the bed and the dresser. The sink area was small. My husband and I had to pretty much fight over the mirror. Also the hotel sits next to the highway and railroad tracks. I am a very light sleeper and found getting to sleep hard with the noise from the interstate and trains.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wvugirl2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Springhill Suites Northshore. The rooms are modern and tidy. I found the mattress and pillows very comfortable. The breakfast is not gourmet but much more than a normal continental breakfast. There is a make your own waffles station, eggs, sausages, and much more. The staff is very friendly and helpful. There is also a complimentary shuttle service that can drop you off and pick you from anywhere within a 3 mile radius. This is helpful since it can be difficult to find cabs in Pittsburgh.

Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
Thank Mike0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2010

We liked the seperate living room area with love seat, chair and dinette set where my husband could watch tv and not disturb my sleep. The bed was OK, but the pillows were small. They did bring us extras with no problem. We were in town for a Steeler game. Lots of tailgating beside the hotel parking lot and a nice walk to Heinz Field and Jerome Bettis "36 Grill" (great food by the way). They do have a shuttle to take you to the casino if you don't want to walk about a mile. The only downside to the place was $18/ day to park and the heating unit was a little loud at times. Given the location I would stay there again! The only other 2 hotels closer to Heinz Field were the Residence Inn and Hyatt.... by only 1 block and they were more $$.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jlind1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2010

Stayed here for Steelers game on Dec 23rd. We were very pleased with the location, staff and the room. Room was very clean, breakfast was good, but the location is truly great. Short walk across the bridge to lots of restaurants and short walk down Federal Street to Heinz Field. Additional fee for parking in the hotel lot, but this was expected in a downtown area and was certainly made aware to us up front. We would definately stay here again. This hotel is worth the money in the way of convenience if you are in town for a Steelers game or Pirates game (also right across the street).

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Buberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Pittsburgh North Shore
0.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Pittsburgh North Shore
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Pittsburgh-North Shore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown
0.6 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Pittsburgh Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh North Shore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh North Shore

Address: 223 Federal St, Pittsburgh, PA 15212-5709
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Pittsburgh
#16 Family Hotel in Pittsburgh
#19 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range: $126 - $316 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh North Shore 3*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When visiting Pittsburgh, enjoy a refreshing hotel experience at the SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh - North Shore. Designed for the modern lifestyle, SpringHill Suites invites you to relax in studio suites 25% larger than typical hotel rooms with sleeping, dining and work areas. Join us daily for our complimentary hot breakfast buffet and work out in our new fitness facility or unwind in our indoor pool. For the business traveler our hotel is located just minutes away from many of Pittsburgh's major corporations. For the sports fans we're perfectly situated across the street from PNC Park, within a half mile from Heinz Field, one mile from Consol Energy Center. Feeling lucky, try your luck at The Rivers Casino featuring slots and table games. Parking is an additional cost at the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh North Shore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites North Shore Hotel Pittsburgh
Springhill Suites Pittsburgh
Pittsburgh Springhill Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing