We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for it's suppose to be”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh North Shore
Ranked #28 of 74 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 27, 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Springhill Suites Northshore. The rooms are modern and tidy. I found the mattress and pillows very comfortable. The breakfast is not gourmet but much more than a normal continental breakfast. There is a make your own waffles station, eggs, sausages, and much more. The staff is very friendly and helpful. There is also a complimentary shuttle service that can drop you off and pick you from anywhere within a 3 mile radius. This is helpful since it can be difficult to find cabs in Pittsburgh.

Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
Thank Mike0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (667)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

568 - 574 of 667 reviews

Reviewed December 30, 2010

We liked the seperate living room area with love seat, chair and dinette set where my husband could watch tv and not disturb my sleep. The bed was OK, but the pillows were small. They did bring us extras with no problem. We were in town for a Steeler game. Lots of tailgating beside the hotel parking lot and a nice walk to Heinz Field and Jerome Bettis "36 Grill" (great food by the way). They do have a shuttle to take you to the casino if you don't want to walk about a mile. The only downside to the place was $18/ day to park and the heating unit was a little loud at times. Given the location I would stay there again! The only other 2 hotels closer to Heinz Field were the Residence Inn and Hyatt.... by only 1 block and they were more $$.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jlind1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2010

Stayed here for Steelers game on Dec 23rd. We were very pleased with the location, staff and the room. Room was very clean, breakfast was good, but the location is truly great. Short walk across the bridge to lots of restaurants and short walk down Federal Street to Heinz Field. Additional fee for parking in the hotel lot, but this was expected in a downtown area and was certainly made aware to us up front. We would definately stay here again. This hotel is worth the money in the way of convenience if you are in town for a Steelers game or Pirates game (also right across the street).

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Buberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2010

We decided to splurge and get a hotel room by PNC park. We had tickets to the game and didn't want to fight traffic leaving Pittsburgh. What an amazing room. It had a pull out couch for the kids, a king size bed for the adult. A full functioning kitchen, including plates, pans and silverware. It was so clean and comfortable. We had enough room for my 3 kids to run around without worrying about. Love this hotel.....

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jo_patchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2010

I needed to go to Pittsburgh at the last minute for a funeral and wanted to stay downtown. Did a quick search and could not find anything affordable - I refuse to pay New York City prices for a Pittsburgh hotel (BTW - does anyone know why Pittsburgh hotels are so expensive?) I decided to use my points and got a room at the SpringHill Suites. I was pleasantly surprised. Out mini-suite was nicely furnished and very clean. Front desk staff very nice and helpful. I loved the location. It is not downtown, but downtown is a short 10 minute walk over the bridge. We felt safe walking back to the hotel at 11:00 PM. You get the advantages of staying downtown with far less congestion. There is an $18 parking fee - but you would pay more staying downtown and parking in a public garage. We did not eat in the restaurant, but did have breakfast. Follow the hotel's tip and eat as early as possible. We ate at 8:00 and easily got a table. We checked out at 9:00 and the breakfast room was packed. I highly recommend this hotel and hope to return.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dcsocialworker2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2010

Very nice and clean hotel. Front desk staff was very helpful. Included breakfast buffet was good, but very crowded. Hotel is located right next to the ballpark and is a wonderful choice when taking in a Pirates game.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Metro_Engineer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2010

Stayed at the SpringHill Suites North Shore while attending a Ravens/Steelers game. The trip was a gift for my 21 year old son who is a lifelong Steelers fan. We arrived on Saturday, parked our car and didn't move it until our departure on Monday. Check in was smooth, the rooms, continental breakfast and hotel restaurant (SoHo) were great. We walked down to the river while my son and his friend went to a Pitt game at Heinz Field. There are restaurants/bars, PNC park, Heinz Field, statues, a casino, etc., all within walking distance - you can even walk across the bridge to the other side of the river for the theatres, shopping, etc. The only thing I would change would be to have two tv's instead of one shared tv between the living area and the bedroom. I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dewey1006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Pittsburgh North Shore
0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Pittsburgh North Shore
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Pittsburgh-North Shore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown
0.6 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Pittsburgh Downtown
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh North Shore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh North Shore

Address: 223 Federal St, Pittsburgh, PA 15212-5709
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Pittsburgh
#11 Family Hotel in Pittsburgh
#19 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range: $93 - $373 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh North Shore 3*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When visiting Pittsburgh, enjoy a refreshing hotel experience at the SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh - North Shore. Designed for the modern lifestyle, SpringHill Suites invites you to relax in studio suites 25% larger than typical hotel rooms with sleeping, dining and work areas. Join us daily for our complimentary hot breakfast buffet and work out in our new fitness facility or unwind in our indoor pool. For the business traveler our hotel is located just minutes away from many of Pittsburgh's major corporations. For the sports fans we're perfectly situated across the street from PNC Park, within a half mile from Heinz Field, one mile from Consol Energy Center. Feeling lucky, try your luck at The Rivers Casino featuring slots and table games. Parking is an additional cost at the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh North Shore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites North Shore Hotel Pittsburgh
Springhill Suites Pittsburgh
Pittsburgh Springhill Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing