We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Frustrated” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Original Oyster House

Original Oyster House
Ranked #977 of 2,141 Restaurants in Pittsburgh
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Downtown
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Frustrated”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014 via mobile

I went there to enjoy a brunch after a wedding party night with lots of liquor. Most of the food there is fried and greasy. Plates were slow from the kitchen so then I realized is more like a bar than a restaurant. Supposedly it is more than 140 years old.

Helpful?
Thank Luis R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    50
    26
    24
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“this is an oyster house??”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

Finally got around to checking this place out..sad I did. While the decor is certainly vintage, food was bland and service so so. Basically fried fish shop (including oysters..nothing fresh) with fried sides and slaw. I tried 'key west oysters' which were fried of course. Breading was tasteless and so was oyster. Wife ordered fish 'special' but was brought sandwich.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jcinctpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
46 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“a must!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014

We have been frequenting the Oyster house for years but don't know why I haven't written a review. I always order the lightly breaded fried oysters & have never been disappointed. They are fantastic.
My husband loves their fish sandwich & fried clams . Make sure you are hungry when you go there.
I must compliment the staff. The bar tender is great & Mary who is a wonderful ambassador to this establishment. She takes so much pride with her job & with this establishment.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Been coming here for years”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014 via mobile

Had the fish boat combo. Pretty good sandwich but wish they used a better quality bread. Spicy shrimp is also very good. Place receiving a much needed makeover inside. Good to see. Need to catch up with the rest of market square. Soft serve ice cream a nice touch on a hot day

Helpful?
Thank Sean_in_the_burgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
267 reviews
161 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Institution”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2014

I love the food here and on a nice day, there is nothing better than eating it outdoors. The combos are great. On my last visit I had the oversized fish sandwich. It was good, but the bun was dry and stale. I wish I'd ordered the oyster sandwich, but next time. They have great slaw and fries and the staff were very friendly and accomodating. Love it!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Penguin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Original Oyster House also viewed

 

Been to Original Oyster House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing