We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's okay”
Review of Primanti Bros.

Primanti Bros.
Ranked #19 of 2,167 Restaurants in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Takeout
Neighborhood: Strip District
Description: Home of the Almost Famous Sandwich! The Original Location from 1933! Open 24 hours a day, 7 days a week!
Alexandria, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“It's okay”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

I'm glad I can check this restaurant off my list, but I won't be back. The food's nothing special, but the locals are friendly and fun to talk to.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,371 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    998
    716
    409
    156
    92
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“What a fantastic restaurant!”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Great example of American food, came from the UK, was in the US for 3 months this was the first restaurant I went to. Set a benchmark! Class food!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Adam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
Level Contributor
65 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A must experience when in De'Burgh!!”
Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

If you are visiting Pittsburgh...you have to try Primanti Brothers!! It's unique and totally Pittsburgh. Where else can ya find a sandwich with French Fry's on it?!! It sounds weird but actually is a awesome sandwich! Try it!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ChuckHonse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parker, Colorado
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A Pittsburgh tradition”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Before going to Pittsburgh several people said that eating at Primanti Brothers was a must. When my friends and I found the restaurant, we were excited to try their "only in Pittsburgh" cuisine. A burger with the entire meal on it - I should say a burger with fries and cole slaw all in one. One of my friends said she didn't want the cole slaw on hers, but the waitress insisted that you couldn't order this sandwich without the slaw. I personally thought the slaw was the best part of the burger and she really didn't mind it once she tasted it. It was a huge all in one meal and was surprisingly good. We had a quirky waitress who made the evening a lot of fun.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DustyBoots1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WV
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Not what I expected...”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

I guess it was okay but I wouldn't go back. The service was good and the place is definitely worth seeing since it is the original Primanti Brothers. We saw it on the Travel Channel and went to check it out. Sandwich was loaded with toppings but still was not at all flavorful. Just do not understand how it is so popular.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dilansmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Primanti Bros. also viewed

 

Been to Primanti Bros.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing