We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK sandwich shop”

Primanti Bros. (Oakland)
Ranked #191 of 2,167 Restaurants in Pittsburgh
Price range: $0 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night
Neighborhood: Central Oakland
Description: Home of the Almost Famous Sandwich! Half Priced Happy Hour Every Day!
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
356 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
“OK sandwich shop”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Alright, Pittsburghers love this place and I have been here several times now and would have to rate it as ok. The unique twist to there subs? going back to the great depression to save money the store started to slap the fries and slaw on the sandwich itself. I am not a huge slaw fan so I have only tried a couple of there sandwiches, but the mixture works well on the steak and cheese. Bread is usually sourdough bread for the sandwiches. There are several locations, but I should mention that at this one, being near the heart of the U Pitt campus,parking can be a little tight.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Clemente71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    72
    44
    14
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orchard Park, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing Bread!”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

The bread that the sandwiches are made on is so fresh and soft.....the sandwiches are huge and the bread makes it so special...

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank PJ P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Everybody recommends this place but I did not like it”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

I know that Primanti Brothers are a big Pittsburgh thing but I did not like it.

These are sandwiches that they put french fries and cole slaw on. I ordered what was labeled on their menu as their "2nd best seller". It was the Primanti Cheeseburger. BTW, I asked what the Number 1 Best Seller is and I was told, beer. After ordering, it seemed like I waited forever to get my sandwich. It was delivered to me on a piece of paper. The meat on the sandwich tasted funny, not like it was spoiled but like it had something else mixed into the ground beef that was not pleasant. The french fries on the sandwich were not crisp. They were soft and seemed to not be fully cooked. There was not much coleslaw on the sandwich. The sandwich tasted very dry. It was very expensive too. I would not go there again and I would not recommend it. This place is definitely a tourist trap. Don't waste you time or your money going there.

My partner said the same thing about his sandwich.

Anyway, Isn't this sandwich the same thing as a Panini?

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank WoodyAutumn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zephyrhills, Florida
Level Contributor
246 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Go to the original!”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

If you are in the 'Burgh, you have to try a Primanti's sandwich. You have your choice of MANY, MANY kinds and be ready for fries and slaw right on the sandwich. The cheese steak is great, and two people can split one sandwich. Mancini's bread (right in the Strip District too) makes the meal -- so soft and delicious. Be sure to wash it down with an ice cold Iron City or IC Lite. Just something that makes Pittsburgh some place special.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairport, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good prices”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Enjoyed the cheese steak and also pastrami. Quick service and diner atmosphere. All sandwiches have fries and coleslaw on them. Very tasty!!!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank goldenretriever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Primanti Bros. (Oakland) also viewed

 

Been to Primanti Bros. (Oakland)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing