We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great base for a stay in Pittsburgh”
Review of Friendship Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Friendship Suites
Reviewed April 17, 2013

My teenage son and I stayed at the Friendship Suites for two nights on a spring break college tour that included Carnegie-Mellon.

We were so glad we found this place! It's a short (5-minute) drive to C-M, and such a comfortable, homey place for a base camp.

We flew into Pittsburgh on the evening of Easter Sunday, so I wasn't sure if any stores or restaurants would be open for us to pick up dinner & groceries. When I e-mailed Robert Cox, the proprietor, beforehand to ask about this, he very kindly offered to pick up a few staples for us & leave them in our room. As it turned out, I learned that the nearby Whole Foods would be open till 8 pm, so we were fine, but I was surprised & pleased by this level of service.

We never met Mr. Cox, but he was still very attentive. The one-bedroom suite we rented was spotlessly clean & well appointed. He also called us the morning after our arrival to ask if everything was okay. We'd found the suite quite hot the night before & had been unable to find a thermostat to adjust the temperature. He assured us he'd see to it, and when we came back that afternoon after a day of campus tours, it was noticeably cooler & more comfortable in the apartment. (Turns out an elderly guest who ran cold had occupied the room before us, and he'd adjusted the temperature for that person -- again, just very attentive to all his guests!)

We felt very safe in the apartment, heard almost no noise from our neighbors, and loved having a full kitchen & a real living room to have our meals in & hang out in the evenings.

If my kid is lucky enough to get into Carnegie-Mellon, we will definitely make the Friendship Suites our go-to lodgings for visits. It would also be wonderful for a more long-term stay.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WritingRetreater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (303)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

109 - 115 of 303 reviews

Reviewed April 16, 2013

We were searching for a place to stay on late notice and discovered the Friendship Suites through a university web site. We feel very fortunate to have done so because the 2BR unit we stayed in was perfect with respect to location and amenities. Plus, the unit was roomy and very comfortable - an apartment really. And, we had a private off-street parking space, which was much appreciated because of our late arrival. Service is outstanding. We initially booked a 1BR suite due to the short nature of our visit and I planned to use a roll-away bed, but Robert very graciously provided an upgrade to the 2BR. I highly recommend Friendship Suites.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tomas01Reston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

We came in quite late & I was worried but parking and getting to Suite 3 was just as Robert had e-mailed us. Suite 3 had a small living room and kitchen up-stairs and a queen bed and bath downstairs. Steps were steep and bath was small but it was very comfortable and such an excellent location -- near downtown and all the schools and medical center. We will certainly reserve when in Pittsburgh again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Faye A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

This was my fourth stay at the Friendship suites. We are not the typical visitors, taking 3 rooms and staying just for a few nights, but Robert makes us feel very welcome (even though we arrived far too early). The rooms are very comfortable and full of character, and it is great to have so much room. There are many excellent bars and restaurants within walking distance, and a classic diner for breakfast. We will be back.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

We got two bedroom suite for our 2 night stay. It was perfect; clean, well appointed, attractively remodeled, and convenient to the universities we were visting. The owner is very helpful and is available 24/7 should you need anything.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Rooms are an excellent value, clean and comfortable, with full kitchen including refrigerator. Dining options are available of all sorts within walking or short driving distance, including a Giant and Whole Foods supermarkets. A short distance from the universities, downtown and the Northside, all important for my purposes. Mr. Cox kindly upgraded my room when the option I requested turned out not to be available. For longer stays I can’t imagine a better choice.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 513BillK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

This was out third visit to Friendship Suites and it is a wonderful place to stay. It is convenient to everything and everyone we visit. The restaurants in the area are out of this world. Robert Cox is the besdt. He is available 24/7 if you need something. We will certainly stay there during our next visit and recommend it to our friends.

Sally

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sally G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
Bloomfield
Courtyard Pittsburgh Shadyside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Omni William Penn Hotel
#7 of 72 in Pittsburgh
4,326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Friendship Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Friendship Suites

Address: 301 Stratford Avenue, Pittsburgh, PA 15232
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Pittsburgh
Price Range: $109 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Friendship Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With the excellent accommodations and sincere service at Friendship Suites, you'll check in as our guest and check out as our friend! We believe that traveling should be a truly great experience with affordable prices and quality service. Building a personal relationship with our guests is our priority. Should you have any concerns during your stay, we welcome you to contact the owner directly 24 hours a day! High prices can put a damper on anyone's plans so we keep our rates reasonable so you can focus on enjoying your stay. Friendship Suites offers the best value in Pittsburgh, up to 45% less than our competitors! Our apartments feature amenities like DIRECTV service and pay-per-view movies while our suites boast fully-equipped kitchens with cooking ranges, refrigerators, and deluxe towels. We also offer free local phone service, on-site laundry facilities, and easy access to public transportation to nearby universities, hospitals, and even the zoo. When you're looking for affordable accommodations and a personal touch, look no further than Pittsburgh's Friendship Suites! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotwire so you can book your Friendship Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Friendship Hotel Pittsburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing