We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good little restaurant”

Proper Brick Oven and Tap Room
Ranked #10 of 2,167 Restaurants in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Proper Brick Oven & Tap Room is a beautiful dining and drinking establishment located in the heart of downtown Pittsburgh's bustling Cultural District. We serve hand-crafted pizzas from our wood-burning oven, fresh pastas, house-made desserts, 30 craft beers on tap, wines by the glass and bottle, and signature cocktails. We are independently owned, Pittsburgh-proud, and supportive of other local purveyors, farms, breweries and suppliers. Join us for the freshest food, best drink list, and warmest ambiance in town!
Morris Plains, New Jersey
Level Contributor
78 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“good little restaurant”
Reviewed August 31, 2014

Located near the theatre district and the 7th Avenue (Andy Warhol) Bridge, this restaurant is a find. After a day of walking and sightseeing we happened upon this restaurant. It was before 5 PM and we were surprised to find it busy. Our food was delicious, the service friendly and timely.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Beverly D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    247
    136
    30
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Service and Even Better Pizza ”
Reviewed August 31, 2014 via mobile

This restaurant was recommended by a friend, so we stopped in for a late Sunday Lunch. Pizza was absolutely amazing. My wife ordered a salad but requested no nuts be added. When the first salad had nuts on it, the waiter corrected the order before even bringing it to the table. They felt so bad about delaying our order that they gave use all three salads at no charge. In addition, they also gave use two free desserts.

Helpful?
Thank Rob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
354 reviews
191 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Bacon candy..need I say more”
Reviewed August 30, 2014 via mobile

Excellent service, delicious pizza (carnivore is awesome) and potentially the best side salad I've ever had (crisp Bibb, fresh pear, goat cheese, pecans and a bright lemon zing). Oh yeah. And Bacon Candy!!

Helpful?
Thank LW8415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
82 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Well-executed pizza and beer”
Reviewed August 26, 2014

Proper has a very good draft list, with lots of micro and craft brews from the United States (including local PA breweries) and some imports. At our visit for Sunday brunch, it was not busy, and we were able to get a table right away. Their specialty is brick-oven pizza. The pizza was not the most authentic, but it was well-executed and very tasty. We also had a salad, which was also good. The service was excellent - friendly, willing to sample the beer, and offering to split our salad for a small charge. This is a good option near downtown and across the river from PNC Park via the Andy Warhol bridge.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank cardinalash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good pizza option in Cultural District”
Reviewed August 19, 2014

This was one of the best pizzas I have ever had. The crust is outstanding and the toppings were plentiful.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MikefromCary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Proper Brick Oven and Tap Room also viewed

 

Been to Proper Brick Oven and Tap Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing