We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vegan friendly but ..”
Review of Quiet Storm Coffeehouse - CLOSED

Quiet Storm Coffeehouse
Price range: $5 - $15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: Quiet Storm, est. 2001, is Pittsburgh's favorite vegetarian & vegan cafe, serving breakfast, lunch & dinner daily. Award-winning Sunday brunch. Large vegan pastry selection. Killer milkshakes. Full-service catering. BYOB. Ample on-street parking. Best of Pittsburgh 4 years running!
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Vegan friendly but ..”
Reviewed June 3, 2012 via mobile

I was there a year or two ago and the vegan shakes were outstanding . This last trip they did not have them. Service was uninspired and the vegan dishes well seasoned and spotty in their cocsistentcy. Still like it but they are not trying very hard to please the customer

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mariner1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    7
    9
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
PA
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What a delightful, delicious place”
Reviewed May 8, 2012

Off the beaten path, not fancy, very low key, great atmosphere, amazing vegan/vegetarian food

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RJPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McMurray, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“If it looks like hummus, and tastes like hummus...”
Reviewed February 4, 2012

My husband and I stopped for dinner last night before heading to the open house at the Pittsburgh Glass Center. The restaurant was busy; most of the tables in the front portion were filled, but there was alot of room in the "lounge" area. Our server came to take drink orders "Besides water" right away. They do have a really nice assortment of drinks available - coffees, tea, milkshakes etc..I ordered a Mexican Hot Chocolate to take the chill off and my husband ordered the key lime milkshake - both were very delicious. For our dinner, we decided on the Green Chile Dip for an appetizer, the Chili, and the Blackadilla quesadilla. We waited a bit for our appetizer. Another server brought over our appetizer, looked it over, and said "yes, that's the green chili dip" and remarked it looked just like the hummus on the menu. it was served with white and wheat pita wedges, not the tortilla chips as mentioned on the menu. We tried it. It was hummus. We called over our server. He took away the plate and came back. "No, that is the green chili dip. It looks just like the hummus." Well, it TASTES just like the hummus too. I did see a couple of minuscule green pieces in there, but it was definitely a hummus base. Our food came next. I thought my Blackadilla was good, but the food was not very warm. It was a very large portion that I think 2 people could easily share. The Chili, a 2 bean stew with no meat, was spicy and flavorful. I liked the lighter taste without the meat. It came with a tortilla to dip. Not sure what my husband was expecting, but I don't think he cared for it much. It was a large size bowl that could have been shared also. Our server stopped by and told us the green chili dip would be removed from our bill. He said it is not one of his favorites...wish he had spoken up sooner!
We wrapped up our leftovers, and I decided to use the restroom before we left. OMG. If I had seen what they call a restroom before I had eaten, I would have eaten elsewhere. I just heard this week that you should judge the cleanliness of a restaurant's kitchen by the public restroom...this was the kind of bathroom one would find in a long-forgotten basement somewhere! Yuck.
So in summary, the server did a good job, the food was okay and the restroom was deplorable. Maybe in its heyday this was a great spot, but I think the place needs a good scrub down to bring it back to life.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank carriew29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Good vegetarian food, deplorable restroom”
Reviewed February 3, 2012

Not being a vegetarian, I was delighted to have such good food served, at such a reasonable price. The place was quite crowded and a little noisy, but bearable. It isn't unreasonable to expect a restroom, that doesn't make you quiver. If you can survive, without using the restroom, all the better. They could easily raise the prices slightly, and do some remodeling.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Charlene R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Funky restaurant with good food, sometimes good, sometimes snarky service”
Reviewed December 22, 2011

Funky restaurant with good food, sometimes good, sometimes snarky service. Very interesting and tasty food. Decor is sort of garage sale chic. I would prefer a more streamlined look, but the food is good and not too many choices in Pittsburgh for vegetarian. Call ahead, they seem to have somewhat erratic hours.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank blueberrypa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Quiet Storm Coffeehouse also viewed

 
Pittsburgh, PA
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing