We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as good as last time”
Review of Primanti Bros.

Primanti Bros.
Ranked #765 of 2,178 Restaurants in Pittsburgh
Cuisines: American
Description: Home of the Almost Famous Sandwich!
Restaurant details
Description: Home of the Almost Famous Sandwich!
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Not as good as last time”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Meat, cheese, fries and coleslaw sandwich, which is their specialty, was dry. Expected it to be more moist since it had coleslaw on it, but it simply didn't have enough "juice". Pastrami was dry and fries were undercooked, which made them lumpy. I got takeout and made the mistake of not getting mayo or some other sauce to moisten it up. I was so looking forward to this sandwich since I visit Pittsburgh only on occasion. However, it was a disappointment.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Debra F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    6
    6
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Lehigh Valley, PA
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Yuck!”
Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

Visited the Oakland location during a visit to Pitt. Was my first time and was really anticipating this great sandwich. Well, my high expectations ended soon after walking in the door. Staff was unfriendly and the pastrami sandwich was awful. The meat consisted of 4-5 slices of lunch meat style pastrami, old French fries and stale bread. Not what I expected.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Srellik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Bern, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“HOLY HELL!!!! A Pittsburgh must”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Couldn't say the name when I asked about it, but the locals knew was I was talking about. The BEST SAMMICH I have eating. Did not know what to expect, but boy were we surprised. French Fries on a sammich, GENIUS!!! I watched in awe as the artist made sammich after sammich. Bring one of these to New Bern NC.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KCCO1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A Pittsburgh Staple When in Town!”
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Stopped in early morning, to beat the rush,(open 24hrs) after shopping at my fav seafood store on way home to NC. Ordered a Roast Beef sandwich and naturally it had the cole slaw and french-fries on top of Texas sliced Italian bread and yes it is so huge! Best sandwich and the price is so right!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dorina59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“OMG”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

All I can say is Wow! Delicious, huge, and great value for money. No nonsense staff. Awesome - don't miss going to this one.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chocmint1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Primanti Bros. also viewed

 

Been to Primanti Bros.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing