We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super Authentic!”
Review of I Tea Cafe

I Tea Cafe
Order Online
Ranked #821 of 2,513 Restaurants in Pittsburgh
Cuisines: Chinese, Taiwanese, Cafe
Restaurant details
Reviewed August 21, 2018

We're always on the look out for a restaurant that serves bubble tea so we headed to I Tea Cafe on a visit to Pittsburgh. The menu was very intriguing and the food was as good as anything we ate when we visited China several years ago. I had the vegetable hot pot - there was a lot of fresh food to keep adding to the broth which was very tasty, as were the eggplant and beef soup we also ordered. All the dishes around us looked and smelled delicious. The bubble tea was great, too!

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank CBartholomew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (7)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 7 reviews

Reviewed July 12, 2015

I Tea Cafe is located off the popular Walnut Street. It is hidden in a residential neighborhood. The bubble tea is fresh brewed instead of the powered mix so it tasted refreshing and authentic. The place offers hot pots too but we were only there to try the bubble tea. We will probably give the hot pot a try next time.

Date of visit: July 2015
Thank Ling_D_Lancaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2014

I came to get a standard bubble tea, and was surprised to find a HUGE selection of drinks. If you aren't familiar with the different types of tea and tapioca balls I would take a look online first. There were quite a few I wanted to try but wasn't sure exactly what it was. I will definitely be coming back.

Date of visit: November 2014
Thank Kate P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2014

I was walking down Walnut St. when I saw a sign for a Taiwanese Cafe! I lived in Taiwan for five years, so I was pleasantly surprised and immediately made my way to the eatery.

I had kumquat lemon juice (金桔檸檬汁) with tapioca balls (珍珠). Then, I ordered the salted pepper chicken over rice (鹹酥雞肉). I must say, it felt like I was truly eating somewhere in Taiwan; it definitely took me back. The rice was cooked well, the vegetables (cabbage and pickle) tasted fresh, and the chicken was delicious. My drink was equally as good and I definitely recommend experimenting with the items available for drink. I'm going to be coming back for shabu-shabu, so I can't wait!

The service was wonderful and quick...no complaints here.

Date of visit: October 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Corey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

I Tea Cafe is so yummy! This was our first experience ordering a hot pot and we loved it. We were impressed by the large bowl of very fresh/unique veggies and the platter of lean meat in which to build our hot pot. Our waitress mixed up a spicy sauce to add that was so flavorful, delicious, and was the finishing touch on our yummy soup. And the desserts! Wow! We recommend the grass jelly and coconut toast. Our waitress was attentive and bubbly. A fun and delicious experience at I Tea Cafe!!! We can't wait to go back.

Date of visit: October 2013
Thank Toby11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed I Tea Cafe also viewed

 

Been to I Tea Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing