We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go see him!”

Mr. Rogers' Memorial Statue
Experience for Yourself
More Info
$75.00*
and up
Private Pittsburgh City Tour
Ranked #58 of 173 things to do in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Mullica Hill, New Jersey
Level Contributor
160 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Go see him!”
Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

We were walking around the stadium area and we saw people taking pictures next to a statue. No idea it was Mr Rogers. I got my picture taken with the statue. I am glad i did. It's free and no one is usually near the statue. Go see it down by the water near the stadiums.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank johnny5ski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    21
    7
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hermitage, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
89 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Visit Mr. Rogers' Memorial, Keeping Watch Over His Neighborhood”
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Whether or not a person has ever seen an episode of "Mr. Rogers' Neighborhood," or even knows a bit about the character of Fred Rogers, creator of the children's television program, this memorial site makes a great side-trip destination for anyone with a desire for a one-of-a-kind view.

Located in the shadow of a single old bridge pier along the Allegheny River in Pittsburgh, most people will locate the statue easily by knowing "it's just across the walkway from Heinz Field. Anyone strolling the river walkway along the Allegheny will come across Mr. Rogers' vigilant perch next to the pier (fully renovated and appearing brand new), and should stop to take a look for both nostalgia and to see what our friendly neighbor sees.

The statue, sculpted by Robert Berks (works include Mayor Caligiuri's statue in the city, as well as a statue of Albert Einstein in Washington, D.C. -- a personal favorite of Mr. Rogers), sits 10 feet tall and has a rough appearance, as if plastered haphazardly with mud. Childlike. Just as Mr. Rogers would like to see, although a memorial to himself would not have impressed him, nor would he have wanted it.

The memorial exists because generations of children love Mr. Rogers, even in rerun. He spoke to the imagination of young children, proffered kindness and a sense of safety, and a child's vision of the world and what it should be. Mr. Rogers entered our homes through the television and entered our hearts with a special key -- his own heart. The keyhole shape carved through the old pier represents this to me, though its architectural and aesthetic reason is to showcase the door to so many sights of Pittsburgh. To each his own.

See Mr. Rogers when you travel to Pittsburgh. Worth the walk, and to those who know the familiar pose of a kindly man in a cardigan sweater tying his tennis shoes as he sings a simple greeting, worth the memories.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank Amy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Kentucky
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Mr. Rogers”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

He's kind of hard to find, but I was on a mission to find him! I had to have a picture with one of my childhood favs. He's just past the Steelers stadium (If coming from the Pirates stadium), or just before the Steelers stadium depending on where you are coming from.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Bratgrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
3,328 reviews
1,835 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3,903 helpful votes
“Mr. Rogers!”
Reviewed May 16, 2013

The one thing I had to do in Pittsburgh was go visit Mr. Rogers! I had no idea he was from Pittsburgh till I started looking at things to see in the city. Definitely go see him, sit on his lap, let him give you a piggy back ride... he wants to be your neighbor!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank QuickWhitTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mr. Rogers' Memorial Statue also viewed

 

Been to Mr. Rogers' Memorial Statue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing