We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite Typical Big City Hotel Breakfast and Pricing”

Steelhead Brasserie and Wine Bar
Ranked #234 of 2,178 Restaurants in Pittsburgh
Price range: $41 - $80
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: Downtown
Description: Our downtown Pittsburgh restaurant's American fusion menu is designed by award-winning Executive Chef Steve Rechtorik. With exciting signature dishes and a superb wine list, the Steelhead restaurant in Downtown Pittsburgh, PA, is sure to delight!
New Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
“Quite Typical Big City Hotel Breakfast and Pricing”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Expect to pay $4.00 for your breakfast coffee in this typical hotel restaurant if you're eating a la carte. The service is fine and the buffet had an exceptional fresh fruit/berry selection along with very nice cheese choices, though they need to consider reconfiguring to separate the cheeses from the meats. The real deals are either the pricier full buffet or the $10.00 choice of a hot or cold cereal, a bread, fresh fruit, coffee and unlimited juice. On the plus side: kids under 6 eat free.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank abqtraveler13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    28
    29
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Used to handling crowds for dinner”
Reviewed May 5, 2013

We ate right before a concert; the Steelhead offers a $25 buffet with hot entrees or entrees off the menu or the combination of both. If there is an event, that is how they do things. The staff was efficient. I felt they could train their waiters a little better; ours was too talkative by far and we felt he was almost going to sit down with us. I had to ask him to speak more quietly when he stood for 10 minutes talking to the table next to us--I couldn't hear the person sitting next to me. We received no utensils until we asked a passing busser. The food was tasty, but nothing outstanding. They serve fast and well from the kitchen; the buffet lacked tending--no bowls for the soup, no small plates out, food was not especially warm. We were there after the main rush, so maybe the staff was taking a breather. We don't usually eat hotel food as it is too main stream, but this venue suited us well for the evening.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HurricaneFinley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroeville, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Great service, uncomfortable chairs/table”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

The Grill doesn't accept reservations and the Marriott lobby was packed prior to the Frozen Four final game, but we were seated within 15 minutes at 5:30 PM by a very friendly host. The restaurant was crazy inside (there was a private party) but the servers were efficient and cheerful. The menu is limited but had sufficient choices and everyone at our table enjoyed the meal. My only complaint is that I felt like "Edith Ann" at the table. The chairs are way too low for the table height - even my son remarked how low the seats were.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank robNrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“THE place to go after THE game”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Went to a hockey game across the street at the Consol Arena. Afterwards many people spilled out on the street and we saw the red Marriott sign down the hill. Went into the Steelhead Grill and the place was packed with hockey fans, yet the service (especially from Kristin) was prompt & courteous & the beer was local brews were cold and hearty! The finger foods that we ordered came out quickly and were hot and tasty. A good time was had by all and I'd return again!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DrTaras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Limited options, good food”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

I stayed in Marriott city center where this place is located. They have a handful options for food for diner and most of them are good. Price is affordable and the staff is extremely friendly.

Cut to breakfast -

I was unlucky enough for not getting a very friendly staff. Breakfast was standard but sitting is spread out so making a trip to the buffet becomes a task in itself.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Relaxed_Traveller_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Steelhead Brasserie and Wine Bar also viewed

 

Been to Steelhead Brasserie and Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing