We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not quite Thai.”

Thai Place Restaurant
Ranked #1,119 of 2,173 Restaurants in Pittsburgh
Cuisines: Thai, Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighborhood: Shadyside
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Not quite Thai.”
Reviewed January 11, 2012

We were here several times - mixed reaction. It is not as good as the one in Bloomfield - just not the same quality and simplicity as is typical of authentic Thai food. Service was good.

Helpful?
Thank Georgia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    11
    14
    11
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wexford one is top notch!”
Reviewed November 10, 2011

I have always loved Thai food and this certainly was amazing! I have been here on multiple occasions and everytime my food has been superb. The service sometimes leaves a little to be wishing for but that is clearly made up in their excellent dishes and variety of the menu. I always like to think that I am going to try something new but always go back to "boring" pad thai.

If you are looking for authentic Thai food at a reasonable price and very generous portions (hello lunch tomorrow!) I highly recommend you try this place out.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank likestoeat2917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Tasty food, service lame”
Reviewed November 8, 2011

The food here was good. Both my hubbie and I will go back. But the service was lame. Had to ask the waiter for water. And they didn't have the heat on so had to put on a jacket to warm up. Perhaps it was b/c we were the first to arrive, not sure. We've only been there once. Will give them another try.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Monroe36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
387 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“Once was enough”
Reviewed October 2, 2011

I'm not a huge fan of Thai food, but this was a disappointment. The food was bland and tasted a little old(?) and the service wasn't very good either. Besides that, I found it not to be a very comfortable or inviting atmosphere.

  • Visited January 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Calypso007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meadville, PA
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Too expensive for what it is”
Reviewed August 4, 2011

The food was very bland, and the serving sizes somewhat small. It was way too expensive for what you got, and the service was somewhat haphazard. Not a place to run away screaming from, but I would not go back here again.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank julibeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thai Place Restaurant also viewed

 
Pittsburgh, PA
 

Been to Thai Place Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing