We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honestly, it looks good but its Overcrowded and Overpriced”

Roland's Seafood Grill
Ranked #158 of 2,178 Restaurants in Pittsburgh
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighborhood: Strip District
Glen Head, New York
Level 6 Contributor
264 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 278 helpful votes
“Honestly, it looks good but its Overcrowded and Overpriced”
Reviewed July 5, 2014

I came here on the fourth of july as it looked like an interesting place in the strip district. It looks inviting and has good outdoor seating and a large bar, but it came off as somewhat disappointing. The beer seemed more expensive here than other Pittsburgh bars but there was a large selection. Service needed improvement here as it took over half an hour to get an appetizer. I can't speak on the seafood here as much as I did not order any on this trip this time. Expect a full house here during any weekend peak hour as due to its location and setup it will be packed at all times. Overall, it looks like it can be good for prospective diners but as my visit there wasn't the best, Im not inclined to say it was very great.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank conrade886
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    112
    53
    43
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lobster roll best ever!”
Reviewed June 29, 2014

Lunch or happy hour. Best choice in the strip district. Very friendly staff. Quality food . Outside patio seating on 2 levels.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fingers3707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Hair in food”
Reviewed June 18, 2014

Recently went there for a pizza with my family, and there was a giant hair in it. The server took it off the bill and off our table, but it was quickly handled without management. I guess that's what we get for not getting lobster rolls.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alis0n401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Get the lobster roll. Do it.”
Reviewed June 17, 2014

The lobster roll is so good. So good. Thick sliced Mancini's Italian toast coated in butter & garlic then filled with big chunks of lobster meat. No mayo. No filler. Perfection. Even the lightly seasoned fries are delicious. If the weather's nice, sit outside. Start w/ a side chopped salad and some brushetta because while delicious, this meal won't fill you up. They also have a decent beer selection & a nice atmosphere.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank PittsburghRic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olney, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
525 reviews
390 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Buzzing Place, Decent Gluten Free Options”
Reviewed June 10, 2014

We hold our breath a bit in Pittsburgh trying to negotiate gluten-free. But here in the bustling Strip District, Roland's provided good food and service for everyone at the table. We sat in the quieter backroom. Our waitress was phenomenal, deftly handling my wife's GF requests. (The french fries, by the way, have their own fryer, making them GF. The fact the waitress even knew this showed you this place understood GF). Our daughter had the specialty lobster roll, which tasted fine, although the lobster was chewy (this is Pittsburgh, though, not Bar Harbor). I had a hot lobster salad with fresh greens and the same chewy lobster. My daughter's boyfriend had a fantastic pizza that he had no trouble wolfing down. Finally, we received very generous pours of decent quality white wine.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bagnato1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Roland's Seafood Grill also viewed

 
Pittsburgh, PA
 

Been to Roland's Seafood Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing