We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Restaurant”

TAI Pei Chinese Restaurant
Ranked #465 of 2,159 Restaurants in Pittsburgh
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: Chinese, Sushi, Asian, Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Fox Chapel
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Great Restaurant”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Very good family owned restaurant, very welcoming atmosphere. Food is quite good, as is service. You won't be disappointed. Very cheap, but the food does not reflect this. Parking may sometimes be a problem on Friday or Saturday nights, but not usually. Overall, great place for families and friends.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Victor M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    14
    3
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
149 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Excellent Place for Lunch”
Reviewed May 24, 2013

This place has excellent American Chinese Food. More importantly, the price is right. The service is very good.

I recommend this place highly for lunch.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank watsonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA
Level Contributor
114 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“love the general tso's shrimp”
Reviewed March 30, 2013

This restaurant is close to work, so I have been here for lunch and picked up dinner for take-out. I really like the general tso's shrimp. I haven't seen it on many Chinese restaurant menu's. My stand-by chicken and broccoli is also good here. The staff is always friendly. I just recently used the online ordering system and it worked well. I do think it's a bit over priced. The general tso's shrimp with white rice is ~$18.00. With taxes and tip (I had take-out), I paid ~$22.00. That is a lot for 1 person with no drink. But I like the food so I guess it's worth it.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CandLO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
38 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nice alternative...good value”
Reviewed December 17, 2012

Overshadowed a bit by Jimmy Wan's for locals, Tai Pei offers a better value with maybe less ambiance than Jimmy Wan's. Traditional Chinese fare, all well priced. Great place for a quick lunch and take out. Easy to get to and fast. Great service, you won't be disappointed.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tondalayo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, PA
Level Contributor
174 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Great food, Great service”
Reviewed July 7, 2012

Have visited a couple of times now when I go to Pittsburgh. The fact that we keep going back says something. First thing to note, the service - very good, matter of fact its excellent. Typical chinese or tai menu, lots to choose from. We like the varying degrees of hotness you can add. Dumplings are great. Broccoli chicken, general tso's chicken and sweet n sour shrimp seem to be our favorites. We will definitely return many times. Do not get it confused with the Thai restaurant right down the street which is nice but doesnt compare. The atmosphere here is also comfortable, lots of tvs - which I find odd but so what. They also have a sushi bar which is always full when we visit, never had it though.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TeamPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed TAI Pei Chinese Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to TAI Pei Chinese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing