We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'm German and I was NOT impressed”

Max's Allegheny Tavern
Ranked #54 of 2,173 Restaurants in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: German, Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Bar scene, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
210 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“I'm German and I was NOT impressed”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

I stopped by this tavern during a recent business trip to Pittsburgh. I grew up in Germany and lived there for almost 20 years and was really excited to try this restaurant - since I miss german food a lot. Unfortunately, this restaurant did not impress me. I was standing at the entrance for 3-5 min before a hostess came up to me to seat me. The bar was crowded for a Thursday evening. I tried the Potato pockets and the "supposedly" famous Potato Reuben sandwich. The potato pancakes were soggy and soft, the potato pockets (also called perogies in other restaurants) were soft and tasteless. I left disappointed.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank T D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    89
    20
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
331 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
“Great Food”
Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

This is a neighbourhood restaurant but.... The food is authentic German-American. Schnitzels are superb with two side orders part of the price. There are excellent sandwiches with sausages predominating over many other choices. Desserts are limited but again the German flavour peeks through, think strudel.

Expected lent value and wonderful service.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SueKot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
391 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“A Favorite For A Reason”
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Max's has become one of my favorite restraunts in the burgh. I take the family there the first night of every visit.
Max's is divided into a bar area and several small dining areas. The bar is ALWAYS crowded. The dining areas can get crowded but seating is usually readily available.
The beer selection is very strong; bottled and draft, imported and local. They offer a nice sampler to allow a person the opportunity to experiment.
The food is just outstanding in quantity and quality. True, some of the cuts of meat are American cuts adapted to German recipes. But that accommodation does not harm the final product. Dishes are served promptly and hot. Sides are served with the entrees.
Give Max's a try. You will not be disappointed. And if you find a better meal in the Burgh, review it. IwI'll be the first to give it a try.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank G C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“True German”
Reviewed January 8, 2013

I was a regular customer when the Pgh Public Theater was on the North Side. I am of German descent and an often visitor to Germany. This place comes close...I like the Sunday brunch. Do they still have authentic entertainment at brunch?

Helpful?
Thank 495Nick495
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wexford, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Best German food period”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Its been at this location forever.The German food is the best I have eaten any where in the USA. A good selection of German beer compliments the menu. Its tucked away off the mainroad but worth finding.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank stnmaddjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Max's Allegheny Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Max's Allegheny Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing