We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice, Small BYOB Restaurant”
Review of Cafe Zinho

Cafe Zinho
Ranked #325 of 2,159 Restaurants in Pittsburgh
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Shadyside
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
121 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Nice, Small BYOB Restaurant”
Reviewed June 30, 2012

We visited Zinho on a Thursday night. We had early reservations for 4. Restaurant was not busy when we got there, but full by the time we left. Chicken liver appetizers were excellent. A friend ordered the roast duck and I ordered the special soft shell crabs, which were in a sauce with capers. I requested minimum capers as I find they can overwhelm things. The chef did just as I asked. The duck customer and I shared our dinners - both were excellent, although I'd give the edge to the duck - a half duck with all bones intact, which is the way duck should be.
We brought wine which they promptly opened and served for us. Service was excellent and friendly. I would definitely recommend this place.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank edward19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    9
    4
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Houston
Level Contributor
39 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Tasty BYOB”
Reviewed May 19, 2012

Had a nice dinner there and enjoyed our own bottle of wine. Wait time was about thirty minutes as we did not have a reservation. Service was attentive but I could tell that the wait staff was overwhelmed with inside and outside tables. Mariscada (shellfish stew) was excellent. Best scallops and shrimp I have had in a long time. Sardine dish was excellent as well. Bread was pretty good - not as fresh as I would have liked but tasty. Overall solid choice and not too expensive - dinner for two came in at $55 and again, we brought our own wine.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Quail84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kempten, Germany
Level Contributor
207 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“simply great!”
Reviewed January 15, 2012

a very nice place, unusual but very nice, comfortable and relaxed. The people are all extremely friendly and the food is incredibly fresh and delicious. Love it! so far the best especially at that price! by the way, its BYOB so bring a nice bottle of wine to enjoy with the great food)

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank smashing79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania, Usa
Level Contributor
210 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Lovely Dinner at Cafe Zinho”
Reviewed December 4, 2010

Cafe Zinho is a small, European bistro-like restaurant in a former garage, just off of a shopping street in a neighborhood of Pittsburgh. The menu offered a variety of interesting entrees, and an oral specials menu was also presented. All of the food we ordered was excellently prepared and delicious. The restaurant was BYOB with a $5 corkage fee. The nicely decorated atmosphere of the restaurant was warm and inviting, but it was unfortunately too cold to enjoy the outdoor dining offered in the summer. We felt the service was appropriate for this type of venue, being not overbearing but always attentive. Two potential negatives are the possible difficulty of parking and the fact that they only take cash or checks, but neither of these were a problem for us. After waiting far to long to try this restaurant in our hometown, we will return hopefully many times.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AlwaysForever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Worst meal I have ever had!”
Reviewed January 12, 2009

I can't believe that anyone would give this restaurant 5 stars; it doesn't deserve even one! Without a question, this is the worst restaurant that I have ever eaten at and I will never return. It should have gone out of business a long time ago.
I ate there for the first time 1 year ago on Valentine's Day. It was crowded and I attributed the poor service and mediocre food to the holiday. I returned recently on a Saturday night and the place was almost empty. We were offered the specials for that night but they didn't have enough for our table even though we were the first customers of the evening. The grilled sardines (appetizer "special") were awful and tasted like they were last week's garbage. My salad tasted like it was fished out of a vat of vinegar and was not edible. The dinner special (quail) was smothered in a suffocating sauce but was at least edible. The dessert was a thick glop of chocolate pudding that tasted like it came from an instant box recipe. The creme brulee (only one left) was just as bad.
The service is inattentive and my first wine glass looked like it had dried boogers on the side- it wasn't subtle.
I am amazed that I didn't end up with food poisoning. I get sick just thinking about the meal.

Helpful?
2 Thank snidePittsburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Zinho also viewed

 
Pittsburgh, PA
 

Been to Cafe Zinho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing