We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the BEST places to eat in Pittsburgh”
Review of Tram's Kitchen

Tram's Kitchen
Ranked #381 of 2,178 Restaurants in Pittsburgh
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Thai, Vietnamese
Dining options: Lunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“One of the BEST places to eat in Pittsburgh”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

I know that Pittsburgh isn't exactly the culinary capital of the world, but this place stands out for their excellent, fresh food. I travel quite a bit, and you're not going to find better spring rolls anywhere. When you go here, you have to at least order them with whatever meal you get. The usual waiter (Tram) has one hand and is not very sociable, but if you talk to him on a day that it's not busy, he's a really nice person. He may seem short with people, but it's because he has a small restaurant with limited seating and wants to turn tables as much as he can. If you want fresh, delicious food, you have to eat here while in Pittsburgh.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nockian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    19
    6
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
475 reviews
267 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
“Solid Food, BYOB which is awesome, but not great service!”
Reviewed January 12, 2013

This place is a gem but don't except good service. We sat there for at least 20 minutes without being acknowledged and the owner was sitting at the register. This didn't really matter to us cause it was a BYOB restaurant so we just enjoyed each others company and drank our beers. Once we were waited on the food came out quickly. It was very solid Vietnamese dishes! The dumplings and Pho were the tastiest but everything we ordered was good. If you like Vietnamese try this place out but don't except good service.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SteelCity13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great PHO”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

If you are looking for a good authentic bowl of Pho than this is your place. It is a small restaurant so you might have to wait it gets packed quickly but its worth the wait.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jed M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Phon-tastic Pho in Pittsburgh”
Reviewed October 13, 2012

While visiting my brother and his family this weekend, he took us to his favorite weekly hole-in-the wall place. I live in Southern California and have eaten in many excellent vietnamese restaurants specializing in Pho - a vietnamese soup. I must say, that this restaurant is as good as any that I have been to in Southern California. Their soups are authentic and delicious. Besides, the soups, their fresh spring rolls are just that - fresh and tasty. They only accept cash so bring the green. It is a small place so be prepared to wait during the busy times.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ccabacungan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“The Real Deal”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Excellent Vietnamese food at good prices. Vietnamese eggrolls are excellent. All the dishes were very tasty (vermicelli with coconut sauce, pho in a spicy peanut sauce, and wonton/noodle soup). The atmosphere is nothing to write home about but this place is about the food first and foremost.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank slackerjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tram's Kitchen also viewed

Pittsburgh, PA
Pittsburgh, PA
 

Been to Tram's Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing