We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Restaurant and Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Kaya

Kaya
Reserve with OpenTable
Kaya is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #31 of 2,150 Restaurants in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: Caribbean, Jamaican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Strip District
Cross street: 20th Street
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant and Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

Kaya is a great restaurant in the Strip District. We went for a late night meal on a Thursday night - fried chicken night. For $18.99 I got 5 pieces of large, tender, very well-spiced chicken - EXCELLENT. The portion was huge. Side items were also great and LOCAL :) Reyna's homemade tortillas, corn salsa and coleslaw...Service was friendly and attentive. The manager (or owner) was highly visible and came to our table to talk to us. She was very pleasant. We had a great experience and would definitely go back. Great vegan selection as well.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kymmie36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    177
    128
    35
    6
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Suberb dinning experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

Kaya delivers with a superb dinning experience. We were pleasantly suprised by the unpretentious, warm atmosphere coupled with a friendly, swift and knowledgable staff. My husband and admit this is one of the best meals we've ever eaten. The food was unique, complex and very tasty to say the least. My only complaint is that I didn't have room for dessert!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
46 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“delicious!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

This was a great dining experience. Not your typicall chain. It was cheerful & the staff was great but most importantly the food was amazing. I had the Paella & my husband had the Cuban sandwich. "The best sandwich he ever ate";his words. definitley worth a trip into the Strip district! Enjoy.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tmlockwood
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“OUTSTANDING IN EVERY WAY!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

First, Chas made the entire night! He made it as good as the restaurant itself, if not better! He should be rewarded! He was so energetic, helpful, good advisor! Food, atmosphere, everything was wonderful! Cannot wait to go back! Glad I'm only a couple hours away!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tmeaderie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Outstanding fare”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

Had the crispy fish tacos, conch chowder, Victory Bavarian Spalt Select IPA, and Sly Fox Royal Weisse; my girlfriend went with the slow cooked pork and banana sandwich and a glass of white wine. Everything was delicious. Service was friendly and attentive and the patrons were quite chatty as well. Great low-key atmosphere. We would definitely go back.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cjsadventurez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kaya also viewed

Pittsburgh, PA
Pittsburgh, PA
 
Pittsburgh, PA
 

Been to Kaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing