We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing in most respects”
Review of Le Mont

Le Mont
Reserve with OpenTable
Le Mont is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #284 of 2,159 Restaurants in Pittsburgh
Cuisines: American, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Scenic view, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
St. Louis
Level Contributor
225 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Disappointing in most respects”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Pros: Great view and service in the dining room.
Cons: Good but not great food, terrible service in the bar, very noisy.
We arrived early and went to the bar to wait. The service there was terrible, very slow, inattentive, the bartenders also rude and impatient, even though it wasn't a busy night. The so-called signature cocktails were no better than you would expect in a much less expensive restaurant. They had live music, a piano player (who was OK) and a female vocalist who was loud and untalented. It was surprising to have such a loud volume of music in the dining room. We asked to be seated as far as possible away from that, and ended up being seated next to the open door to a large room with a loud wedding reception in full swing. Again, an unpleasant surprise in what was supposed to be a nice restaurant. The food was good, not great, along the lines of many a three-star restaurant. The only thing that stopped me from giving this two stars (due to the noise) was the great service from the dining room staff. I'd say that Le Mont has an identity crisis that needs to be resolved. Are you a honky-tonk and wedding reception hall, or a fine dining establishment?

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GreggSt_Louis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    56
    38
    30
    42
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous view and good food”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Recently had dinner with some friends and we were wowed by the view. The waitstaff was very attentive and we mostly thought the food was quite good. A great dessert cart led to some tasty choices. All in all a very good experience.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MartyDavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delray Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Awful Foor, Great View”
Reviewed September 7, 2012

While back in Pittsburgh for a high school reunion I wanted to show off one of the most magnificant views in the country to a friend's wife visiting Pittsburgh for the first time. I couldn't decide which restaurant to take my friends to so I decided on the LaMont because I had been there many times in the past and remembered it as pricey but with decent food and that wonderful view. I ordered the special which was stuffed lobster. When it arrived I was overwhelmed by the strong fishey smell. I should have sent it back right then but didn't want to create a fuss as the setting was so beautiful. The lobster was just disgusting, chewey and old. The other three members in my party had duck (tasteless, extremely dry and over cooked) strip steak (tough and tasteless) and a filet (no complaint). Our tab was over $400 and I felt totally ripped off. So, goodbye to a grand old restaurant. You have certainly seen much better day. The empty restaurant, on a weekend, should have been my first clue. My fault...I was warned by my friends still living in the Burgh. the view, however, was just as I remembered it...breathtaking.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SantaFeGirl2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good food and view”
Reviewed August 23, 2012

The food and view here is great, but for the same price and experience, I prefer Isabella, just down the street from LaMont.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank war_of_jenkins_ear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cordova, Alaska
Level Contributor
57 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Beautiful spot,great views!”
Reviewed August 23, 2012

I attended a friends wedding ceremony and reception here. Gorgeous! Being a native Pittsburgher, I truly appreciated the view from Mt. Washington. What a sight! Dining while overlooking such an awesome city was unforgettable. The food was also de-licious!!! The valet service was also great, since, if you have ever been to Pittsburgh,or Mt. Washington, you know how the streets are,steep,sometimes narrow, and not fun to park on! I can't wait to go back, for a romantic dinner with my guy!

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank Marina J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Mont also viewed

 

Been to Le Mont? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing