We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our family's go-to restaurant for lunch”
Review of China Palace

China Palace
Ranked #869 of 2,167 Restaurants in Pittsburgh
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Lunch
Neighborhood: Shadyside
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Our family's go-to restaurant for lunch”
Reviewed May 17, 2014

This is definitely the best Chinese food in Pittsburgh. We go here often and really enjoy the great variety and prices on the lunch specials. Excellent vegetarian selections and the brown rice is amazing (with no extra charge as in many other places). Ask for Paul as your server; we have never had better service anywhere. Two thumbs up!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pensfan92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    11
    8
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good suprise for vegans/vegetarians”
Reviewed February 19, 2014

This is an old style restaurant with comfortable tables and booths. Big treat for us was the vegetarian menu for lunch and dinner. Wide selection of veggies and meat alternatives such as seitan, TVP, etc. made as recognized dishes. Food is very tasty but they use lots of sauce and sometimes quite sweet. Overall a very good experience. Lunch specials are very reasonable.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank impkokay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
93 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good chinese food”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Good food, nice atmosphere and convenient location in Shadyside. It is a good Sunday night out for Chinese kind of place.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peggy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent value and great service!”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

While in town to visit CMU we went down to Walnut Street and had a fantastic dinner at China Palace. The service was excellent and the food fantasic. If you are in the mood for chinese, I would highly recommend going to China Palace!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank LoveLabsCt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
92 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Nothing stands out as being particularly good or bad.”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

I've been here a few times and every time I know what to expect. It is very good value, and the food is fine. That being said, it is just your typical Chinese restaurant. I simply can't find anywhere where this restaurant stands out from any other place. There is nothing wrong with it, and the food is good. It is just a decent place to go in Shadyside. I would like to lean to the better side of average (3.5) if I could. I've been to some Chinese restaurants that were very bad, so it is important to note that the quality of the meal here was above average. I guess if you want a safe bet, reasonable cost, and expedient meal then this place fits the bill. Just don't expect to be wowed.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank YYC_wayfarer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed China Palace also viewed

 

Been to China Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing