We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Long wait but fast food”
Review of Pamela's

Pamela's
Ranked #21 of 2,126 Restaurants in Pittsburgh
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast
Neighborhood: Shadyside
Reviewed October 2, 2016 via mobile

Visited Pamela's in Shadyside for Sunday breakfast while visiting our daughter. Expected a wait and were told 25 minutes ( was actually closer to 40) but it went quickly and once at our table we had our food in less than 15 minutes. Omelets and 2-egg special were all good with more food than most of us could eat. Everyone from hostess to wait staff was friendly and pleasant despite the fast paced hustle of the place.

Date of visit: October 2016
Thank beachfamilyusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (522)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

81 - 85 of 522 reviews

Reviewed September 28, 2016 via mobile

Breakfast on a Tuesday morning. First surprise, cash only, so we had to go back down the street & use an ATM. Second surprise, the menu. Nothing really struck me as "must have" so I chose a "malted waffle". Honestly, I have done better with the waffle machines in hotel breakfast nooks. Bacon was small, very thin slices without a particularly bacon-y flavor and we had to flag down a server to get a coffee refill for our "bottomless" coffee. In addition, it was quite expensive for what it was. I am not tempted to return.

Date of visit: September 2016
1  Thank Duccy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2016 via mobile

Looking for a good local place for breakfast, we decided to give Pamela's a try. Located in a nice shopping district on Walnut Street in the Shadyside area of Pittsburgh, this place is a classic. Nice diner interior, you could tell that many of the patrons were local and frequent visitors. Excellent coffee. Food was freshly made and very good portion sizes for the price. The Lyonnaise potatoes are delicious. You won't be disappointed if you go here. Since I am originally from Philly, my only suggestion would be to have "scrapple" on the menu!!

Date of visit: September 2016
Thank B2711IEmarkf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2016

The food here is awesome. Their home fries are out of this world and the crepe pancakes are delish!! The staff is friendly and accommodating, prices very reasonable. Take cash though-no credit, but ATMs are close by...highly recommend!!

Date of visit: September 2016
Thank rburfield552
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2016

I have no idea why there's a line up. I get the historical part but you can't wander around and look at them without disturbing diners. The food was average, waitress messed up our both our orders and my son, who is a pancake lover, gave his pancake a 5/10 only. We waited over an hour because of the hype. Wouldn't return.

Date of visit: September 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DAWNBC2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pamela's also viewed

 

Been to Pamela's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
$USD
United States
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.