We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW”
Review of Umi

Umi
Reserve with OpenTable
Umi is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #242 of 2,167 Restaurants in Pittsburgh
Price range: $50 - $50
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Shadyside
Cross street: College Avenue
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“WOW”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Best sushi ever. Each piece was uniquely prepared. Out waiter Daryl was fantastic with his recommendations for everything from the sake to dessert. The desserts were incredible. Go and enjoy!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ur2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    9
    4
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Gibsonia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very Pretentious - Not Worth the Money”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

While we enjoyed SOBA, our experience at the even more expensive UMI left MUCH to be desired. For the kind of money they charge, we felt we had been taken quite advantage of. The surfaces (Handrails, table tops) were sticky, and the upstairs room was just OK decor-wise. We had the Omakase tasting - 3 people . Again, food very good, but portions so small as to strain one's patience. After the 3rd course, one could start to see the trend of the same sauces presented slighty differently - but becoming boring and repetitive. The service was good - but again, nothing special. And we could see the chef behind the bar, almost chuckling that he had put one over on the public again.

Clearly, resting on its laurels, and has become lazy and complacent.

When we left, we found ourselves still hungry, and feeling ripped off. For $360, I expected a lot more. VERY DISSAPOINTING!!

We are not food snobs - We love everything from Hot Dogs to a Gourmet Meal, and we do not mind paying a lot - as long as we get what we pay for.

UMI is pretentious - and frankly, insults one's intelligence - We shall not return, nor recommend

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank FJP J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great experience!”
Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

A friend is in town visiting and was able to talk her into the Omikase tasting menu. Our waiter was great starting us off with a bottle of champagne. He explained each course and each one was delicious and expertly prepared. Read the article on Mr. Shu receiving chef of the year and it was nice seeing him at the counter preparing the sushi and not a sous chef. It was the right amount of food to be pleasantly full but we added a couple sashimi plates just to try more.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mdpbm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indiana
Level Contributor
51 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great experience with good friends”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

To start we arrived 15 mins. early, however were seated right away. We had a party of 8 & our waitress was exceptional, very attentive. About five of our group decided to do the Omikase 7-course, although expensive was very good. However don't expect to be stuffed, it was the right amount on each course. If you don't get the White Tuna Sashimi on the tasting menu, order it as an appetizer. Also the Sawara or Spanish Mackerel was delish. We ordered a number of the sake carafes which seemed to be the best option for Sake price wise. Bottom line the service was great, food was very good & it was worth the splurge for the Omikase.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tdpetrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cooper City, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful sushi!”
Reviewed July 13, 2012

The place to have sushi! Have enjoyed the wonderful fresh sushi the past few visits. The only sushi resturant in Hendersonville NC and the price is right! A must do!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hertzfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Umi also viewed

 

Been to Umi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing