We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“one of my favs” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sesame Inn

Sesame Inn
Ranked #322 of 2,141 Restaurants in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Mount Lebanon
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
442 reviews
328 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“one of my favs”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

I have been coming here since they opened about 20 years ago. Some of the best Chinese food I have ever had. Wonderful sesame cold noodles with peanut sauce. Their thai food is also very good.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank gary c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    26
    6
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“20 years and going strong”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

Best Chinese in Pittsburgh. It's been that way forever. The food is amazing, the addition of Thai dishes is great, and you can always count on George Lee and the staff there.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank PittTravel5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
45 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“One of the best Chinese Food I have had!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

I work part time in mt lebanon which has one of their branches. I always get the general tso's shrimp and they cook it perfectly every time I get. They have a very diverse menu and you will not be disappointed with whatever you get there.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Amber1024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
129 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“High quality every time - shrimp with cashews again. Yum!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

We order pick-ups frequently - and we do occasionally try other Chinese restaurants - and we keep coming back because of the consistently fine quality. Hopefully you're encouraged, not bored, with our repeat reviews of this fine restaurant. By the way, the atmosphere inside is busy but always very congenial, at the nearly new sushi bar (with sports TV), in the back room or on the main floor area.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mitch-MK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Disgusting tasting food and rude managment.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

My husband and I have had several bad experiences with this restaurant. When we first started going here the food was very good. The last few times it was horrible. The meat was chewy and tough and the broccoli had a soapy taste to it that made it inedible. My husband also found a broken piece of metal in a dish he took home. Lovely. The worst part about this place is the management. They are very rude and unaccommodating. I ordered delivery and after two hours when it finally arrived it was missing the $2.50 eggroll. I called and the woman said she would have to wait for the driver to get back to see if I actually did have the eggroll but was saying I didn't for some odd reason. I explained I didn't have it and said I wanted my money back. She said NO. No?? She said she would give me a credit for the next time. I told her there would not be a next time as I was done with their bad attitude and service. She said she would credit my card. NEVER DID. Called two weeks later and spoke to manager and he said he would send me a check. NEVER DID. There are far better Chinese restaurants in Pittsburgh. Even if there is a bit of a drive I would rather do that than patronize this disgusting place again.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KellyZ1379
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sesame Inn also viewed

 

Been to Sesame Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing