We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sushi Sadness”
Review of Original Fish Market - CLOSED

Original Fish Market
Price range: $41 - $80
Cuisines: Sushi, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Tenth Street
Minneapolis
1 review
“Sushi Sadness”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Went on a Tuesday night for sushi. Ordered the salmon and tuna sushi which came with too much rice and dominated the fish. Also ordered a couple rolls which weren't that great - little flavor and lots of veggies with small portion of fish. Sushi chefs were good but the host, waiter and bartender did not provide good service. Overall sushi was below average, I left unsatisfied and do not feel the need to come back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JCO26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    35
    31
    17
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
494 reviews
295 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Super Sushi!!!”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

I wanted something light to eat & ordered Sushi at the sushi bar. It was made fresh, prices were reasonable & the sushi rolls were cold & very flavorful. I was told in passing they had good Sushi but I would rate it great Sushi. Stop in, sit at the Sushi bar & enjoy!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mikea168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Seafood and Steaks”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Went on a Wednesday night and place was not busy. It was four of us each having a different seafood dish. I had the crab cakes, two of them on a bed of Buttermilk Grits. Being a connoisseur
of crab cakes, these were as good as ones I got in Baltimore. Friends had the scallops (lots of them), the crab stuffed rainbow trout (looked interesting), and the Hawaiian Ahi steak. We did not drink, but was still treated well by the wait staff. Will definitely go back there the next trip to Pittsburgh.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RealPerson65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Don't believe the "fine dining" rating”
Reviewed October 12, 2013

I was actually surprised that this place is considered fine dining. It is visually upscale, and priced accordingly, but the service and food certainly did not reflect a "fine dining" experience. The food was good, not great, and nothing really stood out. Our server seemed disengaged from the beginning, so that was a let down. Surprisingly, the place was not crowded, and it was a Friday night. Most of the diners were older people, assumingly hotel guests. They did have an extensive wine selection, which I passed on. The sushi was good, but not worth 6.50 a piece... The fish entrees we had were also good, but not worth the almost 30 dollar price tag. Portions were on the small side, but adequate. They did have some good desert selections. It just wasn't worth the 120 dollar price for a meal for two (and we had no alcohol)!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Yankred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“great food”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

absolutely loved the food would suggest a few meat options tho to accommodate inhouse guest who don't or cant eat sea food loved the drink specials. and the friendly staff

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank jadesingsnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Original Fish Market also viewed

 
Pittsburgh, PA
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing