We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good But Very Small and Busy!”
Review of DeLuca's Diner

DeLuca's Diner
Ranked #28 of 2,167 Restaurants in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch
Neighborhood: Strip District
Description: DeLuca's in the Strip District of Pittsburgh is the original DeLuca's Diner. Our diner is an old fashioned diner that has been in business since 1950. The new owners have owned and operated DeLuca's for over 25 years now maintaining the nostalgic feel and look of the original diner. DeLuca's is located on Penn Avenue, just look for the rooster on top of our building!
Georgetown, Delaware
Level Contributor
150 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Good But Very Small and Busy!”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

After seeing De Luca's on the food network we had to visit this restaurant. The food was good, but the restaurant is very small and crowded. We actually had went to Pamela's the day before and enjoyed the food there more...

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Roxygurl761
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    168
    116
    37
    14
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sulphur, OK
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Oklahoman's favorite”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We were in town for a Steeler's game. Had DeLuca's on our restaurant list - so glad. Old time diner apeal. Food was great - especially their pancakes. On my next trip - crepes!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Scotty P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
102 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A Must Visit for Breakfast!”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Famous breakfast place in the Strip District of Pittsburgh. Featured in the Jack Reacher movie with Tom Cruise and also on Man v's Food. Busy with locals eating, old fashioned diner with massive portions. We did not share but really should have! I had the corn beef hash with fried eggs, home fries and rye toast. The wife had a breakfast burrito called a "MOAB." Huge and very tasty, we probably ate a third of our food at the most!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeff D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
45 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“All Pittsburgh All the Time”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

The food here is really, really good, and the prices are reasonable. There are days I sit and dream about the Belgian waffle or California eggs Benedict or the seafood salad, three of my favorite dishes. So, I always return to De Luca's, even with the likelihood of waiting in a long line and the trademark brusk Pittsburgh manner of the wait staff. It's a Pittsburgh institution that's worth a visit.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HawaiiBound1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merchantville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
212 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast!”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Cash only diner! What else does a person from NJ need in PA?-- Deluca's is a visitors attractions and also a place where locals like to eat--soooo be prepared to wait in line--for a while if necessary--don't complain-- or try to figure out the logic of those seating you--just relax and enjoy the experience and your meal--there have been movies and tv shows filmed here--look for the gold stars on the seats--(Tom Cruise and Adam Richman) the food is very good--very fresh and reasonable--it deserves to be a 'go to' place in Pittsburg--fun--enjoy (ps you're not there for the service--be nice) breakfast for two $25 not bad

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank irishhadc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed DeLuca's Diner also viewed

 

Been to DeLuca's Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing