We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Okay...”

Nakama Japanese Steakhouse
Reserve with OpenTable
Nakama Japanese Steakhouse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #298 of 2,173 Restaurants in Pittsburgh
Price range: $41 - $80
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Southside Flats
Cross street: 17th
Transit: 51A, 51B, 51C, 51D, 51G & 54C
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Just Okay...”
Reviewed June 27, 2014 via mobile

A meeting of friends the day before our Dave Matthews Band concert. We had a 2130h reservation.

Service was just middling. The teppanyaki chef, Sergio, was very good and entertaining. Waitress was okay, but not exceptional. Forgot items so they had to be canceled.

Music was too loud at the bar side of the restaurant. Quieter on the teppanyaki side, but for some reason, they called it a hibachi...

Beautifully decorated, *(light fixtures were reminiscent of samurai helmets) the bathrooms could have used more attention. Good for gatherings, to which we were witness to 2-3 birthday parties.

All in all, the sashimi was pricey and a la carte. Rice and miso soup had to be ordered separately. Rice okay and fried rice was cooked in front. Not oily, so that was flavourful and big portions, so the homeless guy down the block received some of my leftovers. Spicy chicken was not overly breaded, spicy and the meat tender. Wine selection typically overpriced but that's to be expected. Refills on water and pop were done without having to be repeated.

I'd try it again, but sometimes, flash seems to dazzle more than substance in this case.

Helpful?
Thank Anne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    57
    33
    18
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Golden, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Yummy”
Reviewed June 22, 2014

After an afternoon Pirates game, 3 of us sat up at the sushi bar and ordered fairly common sushi and sashimi. It was fresh and tasty. We also ordered a bowl of chicken fried rice that my husband claimed was the best he had ever had ( I think they cooked it with a LOT of butter). We watched the sushi chefs prepare way more interesting looking dishes while we waited for our food and enjoyed the atmosphere. Our waitress, Lauren, was a giant bag. That is my only complaint. Not sure if we were just really luck to get the 3 seats as we walked in or what?? There was a constant line up in the waiting area so maybe we were lucky.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Errbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
475 reviews
267 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
“Dont try to have a large party here.”
Reviewed June 13, 2014

We were holding a bachlorette party there and they didnt really want to work with us. I know it was a busy Saturday night but come on people lets bend a little bit. The south side does not have a lot of parking so be prepared to valet or spend some extra time looking for a place to park. Note they will not seat you until your whole party is there which I understand but when I tell them we are all here just a few people are looking for parking don't tell me you are going to give my large table away cause we are 10 minutes late. As for the food, it was really just average. The prices are ok but kind of high for the quality of food you are getting. The chef was entertaining though and the waitstaff did a great job of taking care of us after we were seating. Also they are willing to split up the check for large groups which is always nice. One other comment I would like to make is it was really hot in there! I know they have quite a few
large grills going but lets put on the air conditioner people.
Overall I would say price/seating poor but average for food /entertainment/wait staff.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SteelCity13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Food is average. Service is good. Nothing special. I believe you can find better sushi for better prices in Pittsburgh.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank eileen572
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Best hibachi and sushi in Pittsburgh!”
Reviewed May 14, 2014

This place is always crowded at night and even in the afternoons on weekend and you can tell why: it's the best sushi and hibachi in the Burgh! You can wait at the bar until your table is ready, and have a delicious mixed drink, which they have many to chose from. If you go on the weekend, and get Suzan, she is the best there, and will give you a great recommendation! Once you are seated and chose it is a little pricey, but well worth it for all you are getting. You get soup, salad and choice of noodles or rice which are huge portions! Every time i've been there all of the hibachi chef's have been super entertaining and friendly. The sushi bar has a great selection, and is always fresh and tasty! If you are looking for a great hibachi experience in the always exciting South Side of Pittsburgh, definitely go to Nakama!!!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank SBreezy29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nakama Japanese Steakhouse also viewed

 

Been to Nakama Japanese Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing