We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing special”

Nakama Japanese Steakhouse
Reserve with OpenTable
Nakama Japanese Steakhouse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #295 of 2,178 Restaurants in Pittsburgh
Price range: $41 - $80
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Southside Flats
Cross street: 17th
Transit: 51A, 51B, 51C, 51D, 51G & 54C
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Food is average. Service is good. Nothing special. I believe you can find better sushi for better prices in Pittsburgh.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank eileen572
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    57
    33
    18
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Best hibachi and sushi in Pittsburgh!”
Reviewed May 14, 2014

This place is always crowded at night and even in the afternoons on weekend and you can tell why: it's the best sushi and hibachi in the Burgh! You can wait at the bar until your table is ready, and have a delicious mixed drink, which they have many to chose from. If you go on the weekend, and get Suzan, she is the best there, and will give you a great recommendation! Once you are seated and chose it is a little pricey, but well worth it for all you are getting. You get soup, salad and choice of noodles or rice which are huge portions! Every time i've been there all of the hibachi chef's have been super entertaining and friendly. The sushi bar has a great selection, and is always fresh and tasty! If you are looking for a great hibachi experience in the always exciting South Side of Pittsburgh, definitely go to Nakama!!!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank SBreezy29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Always the best!”
Reviewed May 14, 2014

If you want great sushi and habachi this is the place to go in Pittsburgh. I have eaten here at least a dozen times and the food/service is always consistent. The sushi is fresh and just fantastic. I would recommend the Hawaiian or Spider Roll. The Hibachi is always a fun show and the chefs really interact with the customers. I always get the seafood diablo which consists of shrimp and scallops tossed in a spicy seafood sauce with vegetables and udon noodles. It is delicious. Make sure you order the fried rice (upcharge) because it is the best you will have anywhere. The happy hour offered at the bar from 5-7 during the week is a great deal. Appetizers are half off and so are some of the drinks. The bartenders are great and they make a mean bloody mary. I can't say enough great things about this place. This restaurant is not to be missed!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank yelhayh11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Great Japanese foods with a BBQ style”
Reviewed May 7, 2014

We could spend a great time with my colleagues in my lab. International students including American, Chinese and Bangladesh were also very satisfied with a great service including Hibachi exciting style. This food is not a real Japanese, but I like these foods.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DRMOMO0522
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
334 reviews
241 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 378 helpful votes
“3rd time NOT a charm!”
Reviewed February 10, 2014

I am sad to say I cannot give this place anything better than a 2 out of 5. When we first started going to Nakama years ago, it was very good - the food, the service, fair prices and then....it all went bad. First, it became a mob scene on the weekends and almost impossible to get in. It then became a younger crowd pick up joint, service was poor; in fact there were times when the hostess was down right rude! We would go frequently after work with co-workers and then at times with the family and friends. But after the change of direction in clientele, we went less and less.

The real reason we quit going all together is that I and several co-workers were sick after eating here. Not once, not twice, but THREE times! Now when I say sick, I mean S-I-C-K as a dog! Third time was NOT a charm and we considered it a done deal to never go back! We have found several other better sushi locations in the Pgh area since and not only are they are more reasonable, they have better fresher sushi and are more service oriented.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mickeymotto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nakama Japanese Steakhouse also viewed

 

Been to Nakama Japanese Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing