We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best in the 'burgh”

Fat Head's South Side Saloon
Ranked #17 of 2,173 Restaurants in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Takeout
Neighborhood: Southside Flats
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
“The best in the 'burgh”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Fatheads is the ultimate in bar/barfood experiences in the Pittsburgh area. The food/menu was created by a 'chef' and it is carried out the way it is supposed to be....good food in a large quantity, cooked and served by a fun group and accompanied by some of the best craft beer you can find. And, Fatheads makes a good portion of the beer they sell. Casual, fun, and pretty much always in demand. When you go to the 'burgh, go to the rest then come back to the best-Fatheads. We live here and this is our 'go to' bar...with all the choices we always come back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nuch2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

643 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    338
    236
    49
    11
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Tennessee
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Good Food and fun time ”
Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

First time at Fat heads and would go again! Fun, casual atmosphere. The selection of beer was as large as their portions. Highly recommend their chargrilled wings and Cuban sandwich.

Helpful?
Thank Elisabu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blandon, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Delicious and huge portions”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Food choices excellent and not your ordinary offerings. My son ordered sandwich with sausage and pierogi eps in the bun. Pulled pork was fantastic. Homemade chips tasty. Atmosphere was lively and energetic with good mix of college students, couples, and families. Great beer selection too!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TraceyC531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Best place in Pitt!”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

This place serves the best sandwiches in Pittsburgh. They are huge and everyone is our group was happy with their order. Homemade blue cheese and ranch for their wings too. Go early because this place gets packed.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank JerryDecatur_ILUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinboro, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Oh my gosh it's good!”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

This is one of my favorite bar/restaurants in Pittsburgh. Though there is typically a pretty good wait for lunch or dinner (at least during football season on the weekend), it is well worth it. We have learned to get there at least a half hour to an hour before we really want to eat to put our name in, and then go walk around. They take your cell to call you when your table is ready so you don't have to stand in the crowded waiting area.

They have an enormous beer selection, and their menu is amazing and full of unique sandwiches and other items. Favorite item is the "Headwich", which is a very large sandwich, made countless ways. This is definitely a restaurant more in tune with adults due to it's crowded nature and noise, I probably wouldn't take kids there on the weekend. Also learned that they allow you to order your food and they will deliver it to the little bar next door where you can eat it, if you don't want to wait, which is also a great option if you are short on time. Will continue to visit for many years.

Price is very very reasonable, except for perhaps some of the appetizers. I ordered a pepperoni roll appetizer which was $9 or $10 (only a dollar or so less than the sandwiches), and when it came out, it was only 2 surprisingly small pepperoni rolls. I think that $5 a piece is vey unreasonable for this, and would never order again, but lesson learned.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wameans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fat Head's South Side Saloon also viewed

 

Been to Fat Head's South Side Saloon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing