We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yum. Good sushi”
Review of Little Tokyo

Little Tokyo
Ranked #281 of 2,167 Restaurants in Pittsburgh
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Mount Lebanon
Pittsburgh, PA
Level Contributor
76 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Yum. Good sushi”
Reviewed October 31, 2011

Been here many times. It is my compare to sushi place. Kinda pricey but what sushi isn't. Service usually very good. Fish very tasty. Try the first date roll if u like a shrimp tempura type roll.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JimBr0wn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    13
    3
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, PA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Sushi Heaven”
Reviewed September 16, 2011

Absolutely delicious meal from beginning to end...The First Date roll alone is worth the trip...A hot extra large tempura shrimp surrounded by cool rice and topped with spicy chopped salmon -- the combination of textures, temperatures and flavors is incredible...The fish is always fresh -- the smoked eel virtually melts in your mouth -- and the sushi is expertly prepared...Sit back and expect to be pampered -- from the hot towel that starts your experience, to the attentive waitstaff, to the fabulous food -- Little Tokyo is worth the trip.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank momsatrekkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
83 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Best Sushi in Pittsburgh's South Hills”
Reviewed September 13, 2011

Little Tokyo is a neighborhood restaurant with awesome sushi and friendly service. The pieces of yellowtail, salmon and tuna are favorites (always fresh and big pieces). If you need a roll go with their first date roll (shrimp tempura with ground tuna on the outside of the roll). Their entrees are good too. But I normally stick with tasty miso soup and a small salad then sushi. They have a great selection of saki so don't forget the cold, unfiltered option.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PghJared
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Average”
Reviewed July 22, 2011

Sorry to disagree with the majority, but we found the sushi here to be very average. The selection was good, the prices weren't bad, and we liked the place itself, but the the sushi wasn't anything special. Most people seemed to be eating main dishes and the occasional roll, not the nigiri, which is pretty much what I stick with. The salmon roe was a bit mushy, not crisp and "poppy." The squid was chewy. The unagi was a little burnt and crispy. On the other hand, the white tuna and red snapper were both good, just a little on the warm side. The California Roll pretty much rivaled what you get at grocery stores now-a-days. We didn't even finish the Spider roll. Based on our dinner, we're not really inspired to go back.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank CrispyRice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing Sushi and Japanese Food”
Reviewed May 3, 2011

My wife and I frequent this Japanese Restaurant in Mt Lebanon, amazing food and service. We especially love the Hibachi Combo's and you can't go wrong with the Sushi.

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bermuda111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Little Tokyo also viewed

 

Been to Little Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing